The best heated socks for most people are the ORORO Heated Socks (Mojave Point 3.5), picked by Good Housekeeping, Yahoo and Field & Stream. They heat the full sole, carry a 14.8Wh battery in each sock, and ORORO states 3 hours on high, 6 on medium and 11 on low. For the most heat, Good Housekeeping's lab found the Savior Heat pair the warmest it tested; for a hunting stand, Outdoor Life picks Gerbing's wool socks, Field & Stream's overall winner. Whichever you buy, plan on the low setting for a full day outside: no maker of our seven picks rates a higher setting for eight hours. The one pair a tester reported lasting that long from a start on high was the Hotronic set, which lasted almost 10 hours in Outdoor Life's test as it stepped itself down.
We make digging spades, not socks, so nothing on this list is ours. Every pick is judged on the battery, the stated hours at each heat level, where the heat actually goes, and what independent testers found when they wore and measured them.
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It does not change what we recommend or what you pay. Availability was checked on Amazon on September 28, 2026 and can change; we do not print prices because they move, so every "Check price" link shows today's.
Jump to: Hours at each heat level | Which sock for which job | Will they fit your boots? | Are heated socks safe? | How to wash heated socks
The best heated socks at a glance
| Socks | Best for | Where the heat goes | The deciding fact | Who tested it | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1. ORORO Heated Socks (Mojave Point 3.5)
|
Best overall: long days outside | Full sole | 3 / 6 / 11 hours on high / medium / low (ORORO) | Good Housekeeping (this listing), Yahoo, Field & Stream | amazon |
2. Savior Heat Heated Socks |
The most heat in Good Housekeeping's lab | Across the toes | Warmest pair in Good Housekeeping's lab: 148F six minutes in | Good Housekeeping (this listing), Yahoo, Field & Stream | amazon |
3. Snow Deer Upgraded Rechargeable Heated Socks |
Fast heat | Toes, top and bottom | Quickest to heat up in Good Housekeeping's lab | Field & Stream, Good Housekeeping (this listing), Yahoo | amazon |
4. Venustas Heated Socks with Half-Foot Coverage |
Comfort, with heat on the toes | Front half of the foot | The most comfortable pair Good Housekeeping tested | Good Housekeeping (this listing) | amazon |
5. Hotronic XLP 2P BT Surround Comfort Set |
Skiing and the longest days | Bottom of the foot and around the toes | Ran almost 10 hours from the highest setting in Outdoor Life's test | Outdoor Life (this set), Ski Mag (thin-sock sibling) | amazon |
6. ActionHeat AA Wool Battery Heated Socks |
No charger: hunt camp, cabin, power cut | Top of the toes | Runs on three AA batteries per sock | Outdoor Life; Yahoo (this listing, did not turn on) | amazon |
7. Gerbing 7V Ultimate Wool Heated Socks |
Hunting stands and blinds | Whole bottom of the foot | 32 percent wool; 3 / 5 / 7 hours on high / medium / low (Gerbing) | Field & Stream, Outdoor Life | amazon |
How we chose
We did not wear or test these socks ourselves. We compared each pick's Amazon listing and, for the five whose maker pages we could read (not Savior Heat or Snow Deer), the maker's product page against what five publications reported after testing heated socks: Good Housekeeping (a textiles lab that logged temperatures with sensors, plus consumer testers), Field & Stream, Outdoor Life (which ran every pair on high to see how fast the battery drained), Ski Mag and Yahoo Shopping, plus Popular Mechanics' researched guide. We also checked every brand against the recall notices and warnings of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.
Our rules: a full pick had to be in stock on Amazon on September 28, 2026, and had to be recommended by at least one tester who wore it. We link the Amazon listing a tester used wherever one exists: picks 1 to 4 are the exact listings Good Housekeeping tested, pick 6 is the listing Outdoor Life and Yahoo linked, and pick 5 is the set Outdoor Life tested. Pick 7 is the wool sock, in the size, that Field & Stream reviewed; its own buy button points at Gerbing's sock liners, a different product. One tester favorite missed and is explained below the picks: Fieldsheer's Premium 2.0 Merino, which the CPSC recalled in 2025.
The best heated socks, by job
1. ORORO Heated Socks (Mojave Point 3.5): best overall
Check price. Three testers put this pair on their lists for different reasons: Good Housekeeping as its most versatile, Yahoo as its most comfortable, and Field & Stream as its best for extreme cold. Metal fiber heating elements warm the entire sole, which Good Housekeeping found double-lined, so your feet do not touch the heating parts, and it found the batteries easy to slip into the pocket. Each sock takes a 7.4V 2000mAh (14.8Wh) battery that the listing calls UL-certified.
Why it is the pick for a day outside: ORORO publishes the hours at every setting: 3 on high, 6 on medium and 11 on low, the longest low rating of our picks after the Hotronic set's. On high it steps itself down to medium after 15 minutes, a safety feature ORORO describes on its own page. It is machine washable cold in a mesh bag, and Good Housekeeping's testers liked the stretchy calf, which matters if the Savior or Snow Deer pairs pinch you.
Where it loses: heat. Good Housekeeping lists "not as warm as other picks" as a con: its lab measured a high of around 124F at 13 minutes, tapering to 112F, cooler than its other two winners. Testers also noted a raised seam along the inner edge and called them bulky. Field & Stream says they shrink a bit with the first wash and Good Housekeeping measured about 2 percent. Field & Stream blames the shrinking on cotton; ORORO's page shows the gray pair linked here as 55.8 percent cotton and the black one as mostly polyester and nylon, so pick black from the listing's color options if that worries you.
2. Savior Heat Heated Socks: warmest in lab testing
Check price. This is the listing Good Housekeeping tested, and it wrote: "These were the warmest socks we tested," hitting 148F six minutes in and settling at 131F, against a steady 125F for the Venustas pair (pick 4), which peaked a degree higher. Yahoo made Savior Heat its best overall pair, and Field & Stream its best rechargeable. The listing states each setting as a temperature band and a runtime: high 140 to 150F for 2 to 2.5 hours, medium 122 to 133F for 4 to 5 hours, low 104 to 113F for 8 to 10 hours, on 7.4V 2200mAh batteries.
The listing puts a carbon fiber panel directly across the toes, and the power button shows battery level in four steps, flashing below 25 percent. Sizes run S to XL, which the listing gives as US 5 to 14.
Where it loses: fit. Good Housekeeping found the fabric the stiffest it tested and the leg notably tight around the calf. Field & Stream says the socks tend to bunch up, and that the large batteries sometimes struggle to stay in place. Field & Stream also credits it with up to seven hours of high heat; Savior's own listing says 2 to 2.5, and we go by Savior.
3. Snow Deer Upgraded Rechargeable Heated Socks: fastest to heat up
Check price. Three testers gave it an award: Field & Stream's best for hunting, Good Housekeeping's best value (this exact listing), and Yahoo's best for fast heat. Popular Mechanics' researched guide includes it too. The listing puts heating elements over the whole toes, top and bottom, on a 7.4V 2200mAh lithium polymer battery with three settings, in CoolMax polyester that it says dries five times faster than cotton.
Good Housekeeping found it the quickest to heat up, holding around 130F on high before it lowered itself to medium, around 122F, after 10 minutes. It credits the embedded controller for showing the battery level and lists its runtime as 3.5 to 4 hours on high to 8 to 10 on low. Field & Stream adds that, although it mostly heats the toes, it works well with insulated hunting boots for staying out longer. The listing carries a one-year warranty.
Where it loses: it is hand wash only, per Good Housekeeping. Field & Stream's con is that it only heats around your toes. Good Housekeeping found it tight around the calves and its testers felt bulk and some bunching at the toe; Yahoo found its mediums loose in the foot but snug on the calf, so check the size chart.
4. Venustas Heated Socks with Half-Foot Coverage: most comfortable toe heat
Check price. Good Housekeeping's best overall (Amazon now calls this listing ball-of-foot heating) and, in its words, "the most comfortable pair we tested": its testers could barely feel the wires, and it has extra padding at the toes and compression bands at the mid-foot and ankle to stay put. The heat is on the front half of the sock. In the lab it peaked at 149F about 15 minutes in on high, then held a steady 125F.
The listing states 19Wh batteries at 7.4V and up to 9 hours on low; Venustas' own page says a battery fully recharges in 2.5 hours on a USB-C 5V 2.1A charger, which is not included.
Where it loses: no battery level indicator, Good Housekeeping's one con. After a few washes the leg shrank by about 5 percent in its lab. The heat covers the front half of the foot, so your heel gets none. Venustas also makes a full-foot version, but Good Housekeeping measured it peaking around 119F and settling near 107F, cooler than this one.
5. Hotronic XLP 2P BT Surround Comfort Set: best for skiing and the longest days
Check price. Outdoor Life's best for skiing, and this is the exact set it tested. Its battery lasted almost 10 hours on the highest setting, though it dropped itself to the second-highest setting along the way. Hotronic rates the pack at 4400 mAh, and the listing claims up to 18 hours without naming a setting. Ski Mag, which tested the same 4400 mAh XLP BT packs with Hotronic's thinner Surround Thin sock, reports Hotronic's claim of 16 to 18.5 hours on the lowest of four settings, and itself says warmth lasts 5 to 6 hours on the highest.
It is a soft compression sock (10 to 15 mmHg, per Hotronic) in 74 percent nylon, 20 percent Lycra and 6 percent merino, with the heating element wrapped around the toes, controlled from a phone app. Outdoor Life found it the thinnest heated sock it tested, closest to a normal ski sock. Sizes run XS to XL.
Where it loses: it costs far more than any other pick here. Ski Mag found even Hotronic's thin sock thicker than the other ski picks it tried, and its nylon and spandex left feet "somewhat swampy" after a full day. Amazon showed this listing in Medium; check your size is in stock before you order.
6. ActionHeat AA Wool Battery Heated Socks: best with no charger
Check price. Outdoor Life's best value, and the pair to take where there is nowhere to plug in. Each sock runs on a 4.5 volt pack of three AA batteries, which are not included. Outdoor Life's reason: "if you're at hunt camp, a backcountry yurt, or anywhere without access to a charger, you can pop in some replacements and keep heating." The sock is 50 percent wool, and the heating panels sit on top of the toes.
ActionHeat rates it at "up to 130F for up to 4+ hours." Outdoor Life measured three hours on fresh batteries and suggests rechargeable AAs to avoid burning through disposables.
Where it loses: one heat setting and a small heat zone, per Outdoor Life. Yahoo tested this same listing and could not get it to turn on at all: the packs showed red, but the socks never heated. ActionHeat recommends hand washing, though a mesh bag makes a gentle machine cycle possible.
7. Gerbing 7V Ultimate Wool Heated Socks: best for hunting stands
Check price. Field & Stream's best overall and Outdoor Life's best for hunting. Outdoor Life found it one of the warmest socks in its test and calls it great for long sits in cold blinds or frigid pre-dawn hikes to your stand; Field & Stream reports a hunter saying, after a Missouri hunt, that these socks were the only thing that kept him out there. The sock is 32 percent wool, with microwire heating under the entire bottom of the foot, and Gerbing warranties the heating elements for life.
Gerbing's own kit includes two 7V 2,200 mAh batteries and a dual charger; the Amazon listing does not say what is in the box, so check before you order. Gerbing states 140F for 3 hours on high, 120F for 5 on medium and 100F for 7 on low, and Outdoor Life got its three hours on high. Field & Stream reviewed the L/XL, the size linked here, and found it true to size for a men's 10.5 wide. Outdoor Life notes it is machine washable, with a mesh bag included.
Where it loses: Outdoor Life could feel the heating elements under the foot, though less when sitting, and the batteries need Gerbing's own charger rather than a USB cable. Seven hours on low is the shortest low-setting figure of the rechargeable picks, so a dawn-to-dusk sit needs spare batteries. It costs more than every other pick except the Hotronic set; Field & Stream calls it the most expensive of the socks it reviewed. Gerbing's own page warns: "These socks get hot."
Also considered: socks that missed the list and why
Fieldsheer Premium 3.0 Merino Wool Heated Socks. Field & Stream's best unisex pair was the Premium 2.0, which the CPSC recalled in August 2025 (details in the safety section). The current 3.0 is not named in that recall and the listing claims up to 11 hours, but no tester we read has reviewed it, and Amazon showed limited stock on September 28. Outdoor Life found the 2.0's heat subtle.
Lenz Heat Socks 5.1 Toe Cap Slim Fit with rcB 1400 Batteries. Ski Mag's best for all-around warmth: its heating wire wraps the top and bottom of the toe cap, and the battery lasted a whole ski day on medium. Ski Mag tested the regular fit; this listing is the slim fit, which Lenz sells for narrow feet and legs. Ski Mag also found the battery arrangement bulky. It missed because the tested fit was not the one on Amazon.
Therm-ic Sock Set Fusion Uni with S-Pack 1400B. Outdoor Life tested this set and found the warmth "very subtle", measuring 104F with a probe thermometer, and says it suits people who keep moving. Ski Mag liked a different Therm-ic sock on a similar battery for fit but found its heat quit after three to four hours above the lowest setting. Amazon showed limited stock, and the link opens on EU size 39 to 41, so pick your size.
Wasoto Heated Socks. Yahoo's best app-controlled pair, with a two-hour timer and a quick-heat mode; this listing describes the same app features and claims up to 10 hours on a 7.4V 3000mAh battery. Yahoo warns it might not fit comfortably in tight boots, and no other tester reviewed it.
Dr.Warm Wireless Heated Socks. Yahoo's best pair with a remote, which clips to a jacket or glove. Yahoo found the toe a little scratchy and the calf a slight dig; the listing itself suggests wearing them in loose shoes such as boots. Amazon showed limited stock.
How long do heated socks last on one charge?
The high, medium and low columns hold the maker's or the listing's figures, or, where marked, Good Housekeeping's spec table; the last column is what testers measured. Battery energy is our arithmetic, the way the FAA says to work it out for lithium batteries: volts times amp hours. It tells you the size of the tank; the heat setting, and when the sock steps itself down, decide how fast it empties. Ratings are per battery, one per sock.
| Socks | Energy per sock, Wh (battery) | High | Medium | Low | Rated setting that lasts an 8 hour day (computed) | What testers measured |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. ORORO (Mojave Point 3.5) | 14.8, stated (7.4V 2000mAh) | 3 h | 6 h | 11 h | Low | GH: peak about 124F at 13 min, then 112F |
| 2. Savior Heat | 16.3 (7.4V 2200mAh) | 2 to 2.5 h | 4 to 5 h | 8 to 10 h | Low | GH: 148F at 6 min, then 131F |
| 3. Snow Deer | 16.3 (7.4V 2200mAh) | 3.5 to 4 h (GH's spec table) | not stated | 8 to 10 h (GH's spec table) | Low | GH: about 130F on high, about 122F after its 10 min step-down |
| 4. Venustas half-foot | 19, stated (7.4V) | 3.5 h (GH's spec table) | not stated | up to 9 h (GH's spec table says 11) | Low | GH: peak 149F at about 15 min, then 125F |
| 5. Hotronic XLP 2P | not computable (4400 mAh, volts not stated) | not stated | not stated | 16 to 18.5 h (Hotronic's claim, as Ski Mag reports it) | Low | OL: almost 10 h starting on high, stepping down on its own; Ski Mag: warmth lasted 5 to 6 h on the highest level |
| 6. ActionHeat AA Wool | depends on the AAs (4.5V, three cells) | one setting: 4 h or more | n/a | n/a | None: carry spare AAs | OL: 3 h on fresh AAs |
| 7. Gerbing 7V Ultimate Wool | 15.4 (7V 2200mAh; Gerbing's battery kit listing says 15) | 3 h | 5 h | 7 h | None | OL: 3 h on high |
What the table says: for an eight hour shift, a long hunt or a full ski day, every rechargeable pick except the Gerbing gets you there on low, and no maker of our seven picks rates a higher setting for that long. If you need real heat all day, carry a second set of batteries, as ORORO itself recommends for long spells in sub-zero cold. Battery size is not heat: the Savior pair, the warmest in Good Housekeeping's lab, carries the same 16.3Wh battery as the Snow Deer.
The also-considered pairs, for comparison:
| Socks | Stated runtime | What testers measured |
|---|---|---|
| Fieldsheer Premium 3.0 | up to 11 h, setting not named (listing) | none on the 3.0; OL measured the recalled 2.0 at 3.5 h on high |
| Lenz 5.1 + rcB 1400 | 12.5 to 16.5 h on low, 6.5 to 8.5 h on medium (Lenz, per Ski Mag) | Ski Mag: medium lasted a whole ski day |
| Therm-ic Fusion Uni S-1400B | up to 14 h (listing) | OL: 3.5 h on high, 104F |
| Wasoto (7.4V 3000mAh, 22.2Wh) | up to 10 h (listing) | none |
| Dr.Warm Wireless (7.4V 3000mAh, 22.2Wh) | 3.5 to 11 h across the settings (listing) | none |
Which heated socks for which job
| Your day | Our pick | Why, from the testers and makers |
|---|---|---|
| Standing still for hours: a sideline, a bus stop, a porch | 1. ORORO | Full-sole heat and 11 hours on low. Popular Mechanics notes that for stationary activities a slightly larger battery pack will not bother you. For your hands, see our best heated gloves; for your core, our best heated vests. |
| A hunting stand or blind | 7. Gerbing | Outdoor Life's hunting pick, great for long sits in cold blinds. Carry a second battery set for a dawn-to-dusk sit. |
| Snow clearing, firewood, anything that makes you sweat | 1. ORORO, on the maker's instructions | Double-lined so your feet do not touch the heating parts (Good Housekeeping), steps down from high on its own after 15 minutes and machine washable (ORORO). Both CPSC heated sock recalls involved high-intensity activity combining heat, excessive friction, moisture and pressure (see the safety section). |
| Ski boots or tight boots | 5. Hotronic | The thinnest heated sock Outdoor Life tested. Ski Mag warns that in close-fitting ski boots some heated socks may not fit at all. |
| No power: hunt camp, cabin, outage | 6. ActionHeat AA Wool | Swap in fresh AA batteries instead of recharging (Outdoor Life). |
| Wide calves | 1. ORORO | Good Housekeeping's testers liked its stretchy calf and found the Savior and Snow Deer legs tight. |
| The most heat, for chronically cold toes | 2. Savior Heat, or 5. Hotronic | Savior was the warmest pair Good Housekeeping tested; Ski Mag, testing Hotronic's thin sibling sock on the same batteries, rated its warmth output the best in its test. |
Will heated socks fit in your boots?
On the ORORO, Snow Deer, Hotronic and ActionHeat pairs, testers or the maker describe the battery riding at the top of the sock, not in the boot; for the Venustas, Savior and Gerbing pairs, the maker does not state where the pocket sits. ORORO's size chart puts a 5.5 inch pocket at the top of a sock that stands 13 to 16.5 inches tall, depending on size, so by our arithmetic the bottom of the pocket sits about 7.5 to 11 inches above the heel. In a boot shorter than that, the pack rides above the collar; in a knee-high rubber or pac boot it sits inside the shaft. Yahoo found ORORO's curved battery rested comfortably against the calf, Savior's listing describes a covered pocket with no pressure against your leg inside boots, and Popular Mechanics notes the Snow Deer's height makes the battery easy to reach with shoes on.
Inside the boot, bulk is at the toe and under the foot. Good Housekeeping's testers found the Snow Deer toe bulky and called the ORORO bulky, and Outdoor Life could feel the Gerbing's elements underfoot. The Hotronic was the thinnest sock Outdoor Life tested, though Ski Mag found Hotronic's thin sock thicker than its other ski picks. Yahoo warns the Wasoto may not fit comfortably in tight boots, and Dr.Warm's own listing suggests loose shoes such as boots. Try a pair in the boots you will wear, with the batteries in.
What are the best heated socks for hunting?
Buy the Gerbing wool sock (pick 7) for a stand: it is Outdoor Life's hunting pick, one of the warmest socks in its test, and in its words great for long sits in cold blinds or frigid pre-dawn hikes to your stand. Gerbing states 3 hours on high and 7 on low, so for a dawn-to-dusk sit carry a second set of batteries, or choose the ORORO pair (pick 1), rated for 11 hours on low. Field & Stream's hunting pick is the Snow Deer pair (pick 3). One tester warning applies to every pair: "Any battery powered device is subject to fail," Outdoor Life says, so heated socks are not an excuse to skip proper layers.
What are the best heated ski socks?
The Hotronic set (pick 5) is Outdoor Life's best for skiing and the pick with the most stated hours. Thin matters in a ski boot: Outdoor Life says thicker socks can bunch, slouch and hold moisture in the boot, and Ski Mag found some heated socks do not fit close-fitting ski boots at all. If your ski boots are roomy, the Savior listing (pick 2) sells itself for skiing and cushions the boot. Yahoo warns that its app-controlled Wasoto pair may not fit comfortably in tight boots.
Heated socks for men and women: sizing and fit
All seven picks are sold as unisex, so the choice comes down to the size chart and your calf. Hotronic's set runs from XS to XL, and Savior lists S to XL as US 5 to 14 for men and women. ORORO's chart covers men's shoe sizes 4 to 14.5 and women's 5.5 to 16 across S to XL, and Field & Stream found the Gerbing L/XL true to size for a men's 10.5 wide. Good Housekeeping advises people with wider calves to look for more spandex or elastane in the blend, since heated socks sit near the knee, and it found the Savior and Snow Deer legs tight while its testers liked ORORO's stretchy calf. Field & Stream adds that most heated socks come over the calf, so factor your calf into the size you choose, not only your shoe size.
Rechargeable or AA battery heated socks?
Rechargeable, for most people. Field & Stream calls rechargeable batteries cost-effective, convenient and better for the environment than a pile of disposables, and six of our seven picks use them. The catch is that lithium batteries wear out: Field & Stream notes they have limited charge cycles, Venustas rates its cells at up to 1,000 recharges and Gerbing's battery kit says up to 500. When the batteries fade, you can buy replacements rather than new socks.
AA socks earn their place where you cannot charge. Outdoor Life measured three hours from a set of fresh AAs in the ActionHeat pair and recommends rechargeable AAs to avoid burning through batteries.
Are heated socks safe?
None of our seven picks is named in any of the CPSC notices below. If you own Fieldsheer heated socks, models MWMS07, MWWS07 or MWMS05 (the Merino model sold with a four-button remote), 32 Degrees heated socks from Costco, or WOTOTIC or Ackpair heated socks, model HS101, the CPSC says stop using them.
Beyond that, Yahoo's answer is that socks from a reputable company that meet safety standards are generally safe for most users. The details, and the people who should ask a doctor first:
- Fieldsheer recall. On August 7, 2025 the CPSC announced a recall of about 45,000 Fieldsheer heated socks, models MWMS07 and MWWS07 (Premium 2.0 Merino) and MWMS05 (Merino), sold at retailers and on Amazon.com from August 2021 through June 2025, after 11 reports of pain and discomfort, including 4 burns and blisters. The remedy: stop using them and contact Fieldsheer for a full refund or a replacement product of equal value.
- 32 Degrees recall. On April 23, 2026 the CPSC announced a recall of about 207,806 units of 32 Degrees heated socks sold at Costco, after 14 heat-related incidents, 13 of them first- or second-degree burns. The remedy: stop using them and return them to Costco for a full refund. Both recall notices describe the same conditions: high-intensity activity that combines heat, excessive friction, moisture and pressure.
- WOTOTIC and Ackpair warning. In October 2024 the CPSC warned consumers to stop using WOTOTIC and Ackpair heated socks, model HS101, because they pose a risk of serious burn injury and fire hazard. They were sold on Amazon.com from September 2023 through October 2024, and the CPSC had seven incident reports, four of them fires, all resulting in burn injuries. It says to remove the battery packs and dispose of them as hazardous waste; the maker did not respond to the CPSC, so there is no recall.
- Hard work in heated socks. Shoveling and splitting wood are hard work, and the CPSC tied both recalls to high-intensity activity. Follow your sock maker's instructions; Gerbing's own page warns, "These socks get hot."
- Neuropathy and diabetes. The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases warns that if you have nerve damage from diabetes, "you may burn your feet and not know you did," and says not to put a hot water bottle or heating pad on your feet. The podiatrist Yahoo interviewed, Dr. Dana Canuso, recommends not wearing heated socks if you are neuropathic, because you may not feel them getting too hot. Ask your doctor before you buy.
- Pacemakers. Venustas advises anyone with a cardiac device to ask their doctor or the device maker before use.
- Water. Venustas says to make sure the socks are fully dry before you turn the heat on, and Yahoo notes the batteries should not get wet.
- Flying. The FAA requires spare lithium batteries in carry-on bags only, and allows up to 100 watt hours each; every battery with a rating in our table is far under that. ORORO and Venustas both say to keep their batteries in your carry-on.
How do you wash heated socks?
Take the batteries out first, every time; Field & Stream, Outdoor Life and Yahoo all say so. Then follow the label, because the seven picks differ:
- ORORO: machine wash cold in a mesh laundry bag, no dryer, line dry (ORORO).
- Savior Heat: hand wash; Good Housekeeping says every pair it tested, this one included, recommended washing by hand.
- Snow Deer: hand wash only (Good Housekeeping).
- Venustas: machine wash cold on gentle in a mesh bag, line dry (Good Housekeeping's care-label check); Venustas' own answer adds no dryer.
- Hotronic: machine wash warm, air dry (listing).
- ActionHeat AA Wool: hand wash recommended; a mesh bag makes a gentle machine cycle possible (ActionHeat).
- Gerbing: machine washable, with a mesh bag included (Outdoor Life).
Ski Mag's rule covers the rest: a mesh bag, a cold delicate cycle, and never the dryer. If you wear them several days running, it suggests airing them out between wearings rather than washing each time.
A word from the people who wrote this
We are Spear Head Spade, and we make a double patented digging spade, not socks. If your cold feet come from clearing the drive, our best snow shovels and best snow blowers guides cover the job itself, our snow removal tools page rounds up the rest, and our best heated gloves guide does for hands what this page does for feet. Shopping for someone else? Heated socks sit well beside the ideas in our stocking stuffers for gardeners. And when the ground thaws and digging is the job again, our spade finder matches a spade to your soil.
Frequently asked questions
Are heated socks worth it?
If cold toes are what sends you indoors, the testers say yes: Outdoor Life calls them 100 percent worth it when your feet are too cold to stay outside, and Field & Stream's tester has worn them for years. If your feet are only a little cold, start with good wool socks and insulated boots; Outdoor Life warns that heated socks are no excuse to skip proper layers.
Are heated socks good for neuropathy?
Ask your doctor first. The NIDDK warns that with nerve damage from diabetes you may burn your feet and not know it, and says not to put a heating pad on your feet. The podiatrist Yahoo interviewed recommends not wearing heated socks if you are neuropathic.
How do heated socks work?
Thin, flexible heating elements, usually carbon fiber or other conductive material, are woven into the sock where feet get cold, most often the toes, Yahoo explains, and a removable battery powers them from a pocket high on the sock. Most have three heat levels you cycle with a button, Good Housekeeping found, and several step down from high on their own: ORORO after 15 minutes, and the Snow Deer after 10 minutes in Good Housekeeping's lab.
What are the best heated socks for cold feet?
For the most heat, the Savior Heat pair, the warmest Good Housekeeping tested, or the Hotronic set: Ski Mag, testing Hotronic's thin sibling sock on the same batteries, rated its warmth output the best in its test and wrote: "Here's the flamethrower you want for always-cold toes." If your cold feet come from a medical condition such as nerve damage from diabetes, ask your doctor first (see the safety section).
What should I check when buying heated socks as a gift?
Two things: what is in the box, and the size. ORORO's page lists two batteries and a charging cable in the box, the Savior listing mentions a provided USB-DC charger, and the Hotronic listing names its Global Recharger. Venustas does not include a charger, the ActionHeat pair needs six AA batteries you buy separately, and Gerbing's own kit includes batteries and a charger but its Amazon listing does not say, so check. For size, Field & Stream says to factor in the calf as well as the shoe size. For a hunter, the Gerbing (pick 7); for a skier, the Hotronic (pick 5).
Heated socks or heated insoles?
Insoles heat the bottom of the foot and let you keep wearing your own socks; the pair Yahoo tested needed included gaiters to hold the battery packs. Socks can put heat over the toes as well as under them, as Snow Deer and Hotronic do. If your toes are what goes numb, socks reach them better.
Can you replace the batteries in heated socks?
Yes, for most rechargeable pairs. Field & Stream says that when the socks hold up and the batteries fade, you can buy a replacement battery. ORORO sells its B22A battery in pairs, and Gerbing sells its 7V 2200 mAh batteries as a kit.


1. ORORO Heated Socks (Mojave Point 3.5)
2. Savior Heat Heated Socks
3. Snow Deer Upgraded Rechargeable Heated Socks
4. Venustas Heated Socks with Half-Foot Coverage
5. Hotronic XLP 2P BT Surround Comfort Set
6. ActionHeat AA Wool Battery Heated Socks
7. Gerbing 7V Ultimate Wool Heated Socks

