The best heated gloves for most people who work outside are the ORORO All-Around at about $120, with a 7.4V 2000mAh battery in each glove, three heat settings and a stated 8.5 hours on low. Field & Stream timed 3 to 4 hours on maximum. Prices checked on 2026-09-19.
Two numbers decide whether a pair gets you through the job. Volts times amp hours is how much energy the glove carries, and the heat setting is how fast it spends it. Every listing shouts a mAh number, which means nothing on its own, because 3000mAh at 3.7V is exactly half the energy of 3000mAh at 7.4V. The tables below do that arithmetic for fifteen models.
One thing first: we make digging spades, not gloves, so nothing here is ours. Every pick is judged on battery energy, stated runtime at a stated heat level, heat zones, grip and cuff, against Amazon listing text and what five independent testers reported, all pulled on 2026-09-19.
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It does not change what we recommend or what you pay. Prices and availability were checked on 2026-09-19 and can change.
Best heated gloves at a glance
| Gloves | Best for | Price | Battery per glove | Stated hours, at which setting | Heat reaches | Tested by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ORORO All-Around
|
Best overall, the drive, the bins and the dog | $119.99 | 7.4V 2000mAh, 14.8Wh | 8.5 hours on low | Back of hand and fingers | Field & Stream |
TIDEWE Heated Gloves |
Best value, the cheapest here that still names its runtimes | $71.99 | 7.4V, 22.2Wh stated | 6.5 to 8.5 on low, 2.5 to 3.5 on high | Not stated | Field & Stream |
SNOW DEER Heated Ski Mittens |
Warmest shape, standing still in deep cold | $107.99 | 7.4V 2200mAh, 16.28Wh (Good Housekeeping) | 6 hours on low (Good Housekeeping) | Whole hand (Good Housekeeping) | Good Housekeeping |
KEMIMOTO Heated Work Gloves |
Best for tools, firewood and anything with a handle | $129.99 | 7.6V 3000mAh, 22.8Wh | 3 to 6 hours, no setting named | Palm and back of hand, separate zones | Not tested |
day wolf Heated Glove Liners |
Best liner, heating the gloves you already own | $115.99 | 7.4V 2200mAh, 16.28Wh | 6 hours on low (Good Housekeeping) | Back of hand and fingers | Good Housekeeping |
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Gloves |
Best fit range, the only pick that reaches 3XL | $149.99 | 7.4V 2200mAh, 16.28Wh | Up to 8 hours, no setting named | Fingers and back of hand | Good Housekeeping, Field & Stream |
ORORO Twin Cities 3-in-1 2.0 |
Warmest system, one buy for mild and bitter days | $139.99 | 7.4V 2000mAh, 14.8Wh | 8 hours on low | Edges of all five fingers and back of hand | Good Housekeeping |
How we chose these
We pulled 142 heated glove and battery listings on 2026-09-19, price and stock checked every one, then read five roundups that put gloves on a bench: Good Housekeeping, whose Textiles Lab ran 14 styles on temperature sensors and a thermal camera, Outdoor Life, Field & Stream, Ski Mag and OutdoorGearLab. We did not hands-on test them.
This page covers the $72 to $150 battery-in-the-cuff band. Ski Mag's five picks run $126 to $575.
Three rules. Where a listing states no battery or runtime we take a tester's figure and the cell names it; where a tester's figure contradicts the listing rather than filling a gap, the cell stays empty. Where a tester awarded a listing that is no longer orderable we pick the in-stock sibling: Outdoor Life's Best Value liner, B082XXLFG1, is unavailable, so the second tier carries B096X2CF6C. We tried four makers' own product pages: TIDEWE's returned a 404 and the ORORO, KEMIMOTO and Savior Heat pages rendered no specifications, so every figure here comes from a listing or a tester.
Nine award winners on those pages cannot be bought on Amazon today, and every one of those pages still recommends them. The Gerbing S7, the Hestra Heater Gauntlet, the Outdoor Research Prevail, the eWool liners, the ActionHeat 5V Featherweight, Ski Mag's Seirus HeatTouch Hellfire mitt and its Thermic Freeride Ultra Heat returned no buyable listing in our pull, Field & Stream's HotHands Heatmax is unavailable, and Outdoor Life's Eddie Bauer pick is sold direct.
Why the best heated gloves are not the cheapest ones
The $71.99 TIDEWE wins both columns of our cost table, and we still rank the $119.99 ORORO All-Around first. The reason is who did the timing. Field & Stream ran the ORORO on a stopwatch and got 3 to 4 hours on maximum; the TIDEWE's 2.5 to 3.5 hours is the seller's own figure with nobody checking it. Add a silicone gripper palm specified for a shovel and a leash, and that is what $48 buys. If you would rather have the watt hours and take the seller's word, the TIDEWE is the better deal on paper and we say so plainly below.
The best heated gloves, by job
1. ORORO All-Around Heated Gloves: best heated gloves overall
$119.99 | 7.4V 2000mAh, 14.8Wh a glove | 8.5 hours on low, 3 to 4 on high (Field & Stream timed it) | Heat to the back of the hand and fingers | Sizes not stated on the listing
The ORORO All-Around Heated Gloves (ASIN B09BZFZNH4) are the pair whose own listing reads like our reader's morning: commuting, walking, dog walking, snow shoveling and cold-weather errands. The silicone gripper palm is specified for a phone, a steering wheel, a snow shovel and a leash, the touchscreen thumb and index finger mean the gloves stay on while you use the phone, and there is a drawstring gauntlet cuff, a reflective strip and a wrist battery pocket on each side.
Field & Stream made these its Best Overall and timed them itself: three to four hours on maximum, at least five on medium and a solid eight on low. Its tester was warm enough with the heat off that he doubted he would use the top settings.
Where it loses: 14.8Wh is the smallest battery of the twelve we could compute, tied with the ORORO 3-in-1, so a watt hour here costs $8.11 against the TIDEWE's $3.24. The same Field & Stream review lists dexterity as its one complaint, finding the insulation made the fingers too fat for a rifle or shotgun. And ORORO's own bullet declines to call them waterproof or heavy-duty outdoor gear.
2. TIDEWE Heated Gloves: best value
$71.99 | 7.4V, 22.2Wh a glove stated | 6.5 to 8.5 hours on low, 4 to 5 on medium, 2.5 to 3.5 on high (listing) | Heat zones not stated | Sizes not stated on the listing
The TIDEWE Heated Gloves (ASIN B0D4DVTMFB) are the cheapest pair here and the most forthcoming listing of the 142 we pulled. It is one of only two products that publish a temperature band and a runtime for all three settings, and the other, the $75.99 pair in the second tier, states no voltage at all. Low runs 104 to 113 degrees Fahrenheit, medium 122 to 131, high 140 to 149.
The battery sits in an ABS casing with over-voltage, over-current and over-temperature protection, and the listing cites FCC certification and UL reports. Construction is a seven-layer build with a 140GSM waterproof coating, a TPU waterproof bag and 3M G100 cotton throughout, plus a palm zipper, an anti-lost strap and conductive PU on the thumb and index finger. Field & Stream made them its Best for Hunting and called them windproof and waterproof with buttons big enough to work while wearing them.
Where it loses: Field & Stream awarded them but published no timed runtime of its own, so every hour figure above is the seller's. The listing also never says where the heating elements run, which on a glove is the spec that decides whether your fingertips get warm. And it is veil camo.
3. SNOW DEER Heated Ski Mittens: the warmest shape
$107.99 | 7.4V 2200mAh, 16.28Wh a glove (Good Housekeeping) | 6 hours on low (Good Housekeeping), about 2 held on high in its lab | Heat across the whole hand (Good Housekeeping; the listing does not say) | Sizes XXS to XXL (Good Housekeeping)
The SNOW DEER Heated Ski Mittens (ASIN B09J4W9Z1C) are Good Housekeeping's Best Value, and they win on shape before they win on watts. Its advice is blunt: to stay as warm as possible, choose mittens over gloves so your fingers can share warmth. Its lab found these were some of the warmest it tested, reaching a little above the 150 degree maximum the listing claims, though they took longer than others to get there. The listing adds a touchscreen thumb, a windproof and water-resistant polyester shell and an adjustable wrist strap.
This is the warmest shape here, which is a different claim from pick 7's warmest system: a mitten shares finger heat and wins when you are standing still and holding nothing, while the ORORO 3-in-1 wins when both of its layers are worn and costs $32 more. Buy this one if cold alone is the problem.
Where it loses: a mitten costs you your fingers, so it is the wrong buy for anything with a trigger, a fuel cap or a fastener. Good Housekeeping also noted that some Amazon reviewers had trouble with Snow Deer's customer service over the limited warranty on a previous iteration.
4. KEMIMOTO Heated Work Gloves: for firewood and tools
$129.99 | 7.6V 3000mAh, 22.8Wh a glove, the largest here | 3 to 6 hours, heat setting not named | Heat in the palm and the back of the hand, on separate zones | Sizes not stated on the listing
The KEMIMOTO Heated Work Gloves (ASIN B0H37VX1JH) are the only model in the 142 listings we pulled that states aramid reinforcement, which is what separates a work glove from a ski glove with a leather patch. Goatskin forms the outer, aramid fiber reinforces the palm and selected fingers, and silicone guards cover the knuckles, which the listing scopes to construction, maintenance and warehouse work.
The heating is the part nothing else on this page offers: independent zones for the palm and the back of the hand, each adjusted separately, so you can warm the side of your hand that is against a cold steel handle without cooking the other. At 22.8Wh it also carries the largest battery of the twelve we could compute, more than the $149.99 pick and more than either ORORO.
Where it loses: what this glove is missing is disclosure, not energy. Its listing gives approximately 3 to 6 hours without naming a heat setting, so the tables below can only credit it with its own 3 hour floor and have to leave the cost-per-hour cell blank. No tester in our set has run it either: all five roundups are built around ski, hunting and everyday gloves, and across every one of them the words aramid, kevlar and impact guard appear zero times.
5. day wolf Heated Glove Liners: to heat the gloves you already own
$115.99 | 7.4V 2200mAh, 16.28Wh a glove | 6 hours on low (Good Housekeeping, citing the brand), close to 3 held on high in its lab | Heat to the back of the hand and fingers | Four sizes, XXS to XL/XXL (Good Housekeeping)
The day wolf Heated Glove Liners (ASIN B07W97B82V) are Good Housekeeping's Best Liners, and in its lab they heated at a similar rate to its overall winner and held an equivalent temperature for close to three hours. They are brushed Lycra over a 0.08 inch neoprene structure, with two batteries powering the left and right hands separately, a four-dot battery display, touchscreen thumb and index fingertips and a one-year warranty. They machine wash in a laundry bag, which no other listing here states.
One detail few listings print and everybody should know: this one states that the high setting shifts to medium after about five minutes to manage power, so high is a burst, not a setting you hold. Good Housekeeping saw the same behaviour in the lab on the Venustas gloves below, which suggests it is commoner than the listings admit.
Where it loses: two cheaper liners in the second tier beat it on our cost table, the ORORO at $99.99 and the Savior at $100.79. What it has that neither of them has is a lab measurement. Good Housekeeping also found the heat less even than the best pair, concentrated at the fingertips and the back of the palm, and its cuff is not adjustable, so a thicker wrist needs a size up.
6. SAVIOR HEAT Heated Gloves: the only pick that reaches 3XL
$149.99 | 7.4V 2200mAh, 16.28Wh a glove | Up to 8 hours, heat setting not named; around 3 held on high in Good Housekeeping's lab | Heat to the fingers and back of hand | Sizes XS to 3XL
The SAVIOR HEAT Heated Gloves (ASIN B01LYIHOD1) tie for the most awarded thing on this page, with two of our five testers behind them, alongside the Outdoor Research Sureshot and the Savior liners in the second tier. Good Housekeeping made this exact listing its Best Overall, and Field & Stream made the byte-identical sibling B01LZ5THJT its Best for Work. Good Housekeeping's lab found they heated much faster than other styles and held a consistent temperature for around three hours on high, short of the 149 degree peak the brand lists but inside a reasonable range.
The reason to buy them is fit. XS to 3XL is seven sizes and the only range here that reaches 3XL; the SNOW DEER mittens match that count and start smaller, at XXS, and everything else states no range at all. The listing adds a ten second heat-up, a dual-port charger that refills both batteries in about two hours, and 3M Thinsulate inside a 150D twill seven-layer shell. Field & Stream found them plenty warm with the heat off.
Where it loses: at $9.21 per watt hour this is the second dearest energy in the table below, and the listing quotes its hours without naming a setting, so we cannot price its heat. Savior also sells a near-identical glove, B071X6545C at $142.99, on dual 3000mAh cells rather than 2200mAh, claiming up to 12 hours against this listing's 8, for $7 less. The catch is that B071X6545C is the listing OutdoorGearLab actually tested: it makes the same Hipora waterproof claim, OutdoorGearLab's spec sheet for it records a sheep leather palm and an unspecified impermeable layer, and it came out of the tank waterlogged in under two minutes. So we link this one, because it is the listing Good Housekeeping tested and awarded and the one that reaches 3XL, and you take the other if you want the bigger battery for less and will keep it dry. Nobody has submerged the listing we link, so treat its waterproof claim as untested. Field & Stream also found the thickness costs dexterity.
7. ORORO Twin Cities 3-in-1 Heated Gloves 2.0: the warmest system
$139.99 | 7.4V 2000mAh, 14.8Wh a glove | 8 hours on low, about 2.5 on max in Good Housekeeping's lab | Heat to the edges of all five fingers and the back of each hand | Sizes not stated on the listing
The ORORO Twin Cities 3-in-1 Heated Gloves 2.0 (ASIN B0BP1GLFSV) are two gloves on one listing: a heated liner, an insulated outer, or both together. The liner holds the heating elements; the outer is nylon with 3M Thinsulate and a fleece lining, water and wind resistant, with non-slip palms the listing scopes to ski poles and snow tools, and two YKK-zippered wrist pockets.
Good Housekeeping found the full three-layer system the warmest pair it tested overall, holding a fairly consistent temperature for around two and a half hours on maximum. That is the warmest system, worn as a set, rather than the warmest single glove: if you will only ever wear one layer, the mittens at $107.99 are the warmer buy for less money.
Where it loses: at $9.46 per watt hour this is the dearest stored energy of every pair whose battery we could compute, the 113 degree ceiling in Good Housekeeping's specification table is the lowest of any pick here that names one, and its testers found the battery bulky enough to limit some wrist movement.
Also considered: models that missed the list and why
Eight more worth knowing about, including three tester favourites we could not slot. None is in the ranked list above, and every price and spec here comes from the same Amazon pull on 2026-09-19.
- Venustas Heated Gloves, $123.49. Good Housekeeping's longest battery, and the measurement that surprised us most: its lab held a consistent temperature above 120 degrees for six hours on the warmest level, where most gloves it tested managed two to three. That makes it the only glove in these fifteen that clears a four hour morning on high, and it is down to one unit in stock, which is the only reason it is not a pick. Its lab also noted it drops itself to medium when it senses your hands are warm enough. The sibling mittens B0FP2GS2TB at $129.99 show five left, and Good Housekeeping records that they performed similarly but did not heat up as much.
- WASOTO Heated Ski Gloves, $119.99. WASOTO is the only brand in our 142 listings that does this page's arithmetic for you, printing 7.4V times 3000mAh equals 22.2Wh and tying 8 hours to the low setting explicitly. OutdoorGearLab gave a WASOTO glove a Best Buy award, but on listing B0FLXW3GLD at $129.99, in its women's ski glove lineup, and that listing is down to one unit. The cheaper polyester version we link is $10 less with the same stated 22.2Wh, which is the lowest cost per watt hour of any model no tester has run, though the ORORO liners beat it on cost per stated hour.
- Outdoor Research Sureshot Heated Softshell, $160.24. Outdoor Life's Best Design and the most dexterous heated glove OutdoorGearLab has tested, which reports it at up to 2.5 hours on high and 8 on low. Then Good Housekeeping put it in the lab and got a little over an hour on high, with a temperature that would not hold steady. That is the shortest measured runtime in our whole source set, against the 2.5, 5 and 8 hour ladder OutdoorGearLab reports, and it is the clearest example on this page of why an advertised hour is not an hour. It also shows only four left, and its Amazon listing carries no specification at all, just brand copy, so we cannot compute a watt hour for it.
- SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners, $100.79. The most awarded liner in our source set: Outdoor Life's Best Value and Ski Mag's Best Liner. The exact listing Outdoor Life linked, B082XXLFG1, is unavailable, and this is the in-stock sibling, on two 7.4V 2200mAh batteries with a 104 to 149 degree range. It is 93 cents a watt hour cheaper than our liner pick and loses the slot because its listing never ties its eight hours to a heat setting, and because no lab has put a thermometer on it.
- ORORO Heated Glove Liners, $99.99. A 7.4V 2200mAh battery the listing states as 16.28Wh, up to 8.5 hours on low, touchscreen on three fingers, and the cheapest route onto this page from a brand two testers award. It beats our liner pick on both computed columns and loses on the same count: nobody has measured it. ORORO also lists what it describes as the same liner at $119.99 under B0C9D7WP94, so check both before ordering.
- SNOW DEER Upgraded Heated Gloves, $129.99. Field & Stream's Best for Men, on two 7.4V 2200mAh batteries it rates at 2.5 to 6 hours without naming a setting. Its heating wires run the full length of every finger, which is why Field & Stream calls it a good option for arthritis or circulation issues. Only eight left, and the listing we priced is an XS.
- PEKWZIZ Heated Gloves, $75.99. This one is on the page as a lesson. It advertises the biggest battery number here, two 6000mAh packs, and states no voltage anywhere, so its watt hours cannot be worked out at all. Its own stated runtimes are also the shortest of any model here: 2 to 3 hours on high, 3 to 4 on medium, 4 to 5 on low. A big mAh number is not a long day.
- Gerbing 12V Extreme Hard Knuckle Heated Gloves, $189.99. Gerbing makes Outdoor Life's Best Overall, the S7, which returns no buyable Amazon listing. What Gerbing does list are 12V gloves like this one: cowhide, an Aquatex membrane, a 135 degree maximum, and power drawn from a motorcycle harness rather than a pocket battery. Excellent on a bike, useless on a driveway.
What do heated gloves cost per watt hour and per hour of heat?
The $71.99 TIDEWE wins both columns, at $3.24 a watt hour and $11.08 an hour of heat; the range runs to $9.46 and $20.03. The two right-hand columns are computed by us: price divided by the battery energy in one glove, which is volts times amp hours, and price divided by the hours the listing promises on its lowest setting. Where a stated runtime is a range we use the bottom of it, so nothing is credited with its best case, and where a listing gives hours without naming a setting the cell stays empty rather than guessing.
| Gloves | Tier | Price | Watt hours, one glove (computed) | Cost per watt hour (computed) | Hours on the lowest setting | Cost per stated hour (computed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TIDEWE | Pick | $71.99 | 22.2 (stated) | $3.24 | 6.5 to 8.5 | $11.08 |
| WASOTO | Considered | $119.99 | 22.2 (7.4V x 3.0Ah) | $5.40 | 8 | $15.00 |
| KEMIMOTO Heated Work Gloves | Pick | $129.99 | 22.8 (7.6V x 3.0Ah) | $5.70 | Not tied to a setting | - |
| ORORO Heated Glove Liners | Considered | $99.99 | 16.28 (7.4V x 2.2Ah) | $6.14 | 8.5 | $11.76 |
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Glove Liners | Considered | $100.79 | 16.28 (7.4V x 2.2Ah) | $6.19 | Not tied to a setting | - |
| Venustas | Considered | $123.49 | 19.0 (7.6V x 2.5Ah, Good Housekeeping) | $6.50 | 8 (Good Housekeeping) | $15.44 |
| SNOW DEER Heated Ski Mittens | Pick | $107.99 | 16.28 (7.4V x 2.2Ah, Good Housekeeping) | $6.63 | 6 (Good Housekeeping) | $18.00 |
| day wolf Heated Glove Liners | Pick | $115.99 | 16.28 (7.4V x 2.2Ah) | $7.12 | 6 (Good Housekeeping) | $19.33 |
| SNOW DEER Upgraded | Considered | $129.99 | 16.28 (7.4V x 2.2Ah) | $7.98 | Not tied to a setting | - |
| ORORO All-Around | Pick | $119.99 | 14.8 (stated) | $8.11 | 8.5 | $14.12 |
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Gloves | Pick | $149.99 | 16.28 (7.4V x 2.2Ah) | $9.21 | Not tied to a setting | - |
| ORORO Twin Cities 3-in-1 2.0 | Pick | $139.99 | 14.8 (stated) | $9.46 | 8 | $17.50 |
| PEKWZIZ | Considered | $75.99 | Cannot compute: 6000mAh, no voltage | - | 4 to 5 | $19.00 |
| Outdoor Research Sureshot | Considered | $160.24 | Cannot compute: no battery stated | - | 8 (OutdoorGearLab) | $20.03 |
| Gerbing 12V Extreme | Considered | $189.99 | n/a, draws 12V from a bike | - | Not applicable | - |
Three things fall out. The TIDEWE carries the most energy per dollar and the most heat per dollar at the same time, at $3.24 a watt hour against $5.70 for the next cheapest pick and $9.46 for the dearest. Second, energy does not get cheaper as you spend more: the two dearest watt hours here, $9.21 and $9.46, belong to the $149.99 and $139.99 picks, and both carry smaller batteries than the $71.99 one. What the extra money buys is leather, insulation, a second glove and a size range, not heat.
Third, six of these listings quote an hour figure without naming a heat setting, and a tester's specification row resolves two of them, which is why the last column has four empty cells and a fifth for the Gerbing, which carries no battery at all. A glove advertising eight hours on its lowest setting and one advertising eight hours with no setting named are not the same product, and only one is telling you anything.
What a battery actually gives you
The listings here advertise four to eight and a half hours, always at the lowest setting where they name one. Good Housekeeping's lab, which logged over 82,000 data points across 14 styles, found that most gloves it tested lasted two to three hours on the highest setting. Both are true, because the lowest setting is 104 to 113 degrees Fahrenheit on the listings that state it, five to fifteen degrees over body temperature rather than the heat you switch on when your fingers have stopped working. The three job columns assume the top setting for the whole job, which is the worst case, and the tester figures are how long a lab held a temperature rather than a runtime to shutdown.
| Gloves | What the listing advertises | Held on high, tester measured | Two hour snow clear, on high | Four hour firewood morning, on high | Eight hours outside, on low |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORORO All-Around | 8.5 hours, on low | 3 to 4 (Field & Stream timed it) | Yes (timed) | Only at the top of that range | Yes, 8.5 stated |
| TIDEWE | 6.5 to 8.5 hours, on low | 2.5 to 3.5 (listing, untested) | Yes (listing) | Will not last | Only at the top of its range |
| SNOW DEER Heated Ski Mittens | Up to 6 hours | About 2 (Good Housekeeping lab) | Only just (lab) | Will not last | No, 6 hours |
| KEMIMOTO Heated Work Gloves | 3 to 6 hours, no setting named | Not stated | Yes, on its own 3 hour floor | Unknown; listing will not say | Not stated by setting |
| day wolf Heated Glove Liners | Up to 6 hours on low | Close to 3 (Good Housekeeping lab) | Yes (lab) | Will not last | No, 6 hours |
| SAVIOR HEAT Heated Gloves | Up to 8 hours, no setting named | Around 3 (Good Housekeeping lab) | Yes (lab) | Will not last | Not stated by setting |
| ORORO Twin Cities 3-in-1 2.0 | 8 hours, on low | About 2.5 (Good Housekeeping lab) | Yes (lab) | Will not last | Yes, 8 stated |
| Venustas (second tier) | Up to 8 hours, no setting named | Six (Good Housekeeping lab) | Yes (lab) | Yes (lab) | Not stated. One unit left. |
| Outdoor Research Sureshot (second tier) | Up to 8 hours on low (OutdoorGearLab reports the spec) | A little over 1 (Good Housekeeping lab) | Will not last (lab) | Will not last | 8 reported, never measured |
The fourth column is the lesson. Only one of the six picks with a high-setting figure can finish a four hour firewood morning on its top setting, and only if it hits the top of Field & Stream's 3 to 4 hour range, while the seventh will not say. The one model we can actually show clearing it is the Venustas in the second tier, on a lab measurement rather than a seller's claim, and it is down to a single unit. Unless you catch that listing, plan for three hours of real heat and no more. Six of the seven picks clear a two hour snow clear on high, the mittens only just, and the eight hour day is available only at a temperature barely above your own.
Buy the way the hours actually work: run low, use high in short bursts when your fingers go, and if your day is genuinely long, buy a second set of batteries rather than a dearer glove, where the brand sells one. For three of these seven picks we could not find one.
What are the best heated gloves for work?
For work with tools, the KEMIMOTO Heated Work Gloves, because a ski glove's palm is the wrong material for bark, splitting handles and cold steel. Look for three things the rest of this category does not have: a leather or aramid-reinforced palm, heat in the palm as well as the back of the hand, and a cuff that seals under a jacket sleeve rather than over it.
The trade is dexterity. Field & Stream found the thick SAVIOR HEAT pair costs some. If your work needs fingers more than armour, the liner route below is the better answer, and our best gardening gloves guide covers the unheated pairs to layer them under.
Are heated glove liners better than heated gloves?
They are better if you already own gloves you like. A liner puts the heating element next to your skin and lets your existing glove do the insulating, which is why Outdoor Life and Ski Mag both give their liner award to Savior Heat.
They are worse if you want one purchase to solve everything. A liner alone is a mild-cold glove, it has no grip or protection worth the name, and you are still buying an outer. The ORORO Twin Cities 3-in-1 above sells you both at once.
Do heated gloves help with Raynaud's or poor circulation?
Sellers say so constantly and no tester tested for it. Thirty-four of the 142 listings we pulled claim a benefit for Raynaud's, arthritis, stiff joints or poor circulation, in nearly identical words. The closest any independent tester comes is Field & Stream, which calls the Snow Deer Upgraded in our second tier a good option for arthritis or circulation issues on the strength of heating wires that run the full length of every finger. That is a design observation, not a measurement, and across all five roundups the word Raynaud's does not appear once.
So there is no tested basis for recommending one heated glove over another on medical grounds, and we do not. What the specifications can tell you is which pairs heat the palm and the fingertips rather than only the back of the hand, since that is where the cold is felt: the KEMIMOTO heats the palm on its own zone, and Good Housekeeping found the SNOW DEER mittens heat the whole hand. One more reason to ask a doctor first, and it is The Warming Store's: if you have reduced sensation in your fingers, from neuropathy, diabetes or another condition, talk to a doctor, start on the lowest setting and check your skin, because the risk is not the glove being too hot, it is not being able to feel that it is.
How should heated gloves fit, and what size?
Fit is the one purchase decision that changes how long the battery lasts. Ski Mag puts it plainly: if the glove is too loose the heating element works harder to warm the space and the batteries will not last as long, and if it is too tight it restricts blood flow and your hands cannot stay warm anyway. Its test is that the glove touches your hand on all sides and your fingertips brush the ends of the fingers with no bagginess. The Warming Store adds that a tight glove compresses the insulation too, and that you should size up if you are between sizes, leaving room for a thin liner and a little air.
There is no men's or women's answer here, because almost every heated glove is unisex. Good Housekeeping states that its picks are available in unisex sizing, and ORORO's size guide lists gloves under a single Standard Unisex chart measured two ways, around the middle of the palm and from the base of the palm to the longest fingertip. That makes the size range the thing to shop, and only three picks state one: SAVIOR HEAT XS to 3XL, the SNOW DEER mittens XXS to XXL, and the day wolf liners four sizes from XXS to XL/XXL, with a slim cuff its testers warned about. Field & Stream named a women's pick, the ActionHeat 5V Featherweight, but it returns no Amazon listing, so we cannot price it.
How do you choose heated gloves?
Work from the day, not the brochure. Decide how long you are outside and how hard you are working, then read the two numbers that actually vary: the battery energy and the runtime at a stated heat level.
- Buy the shape for the job. Mittens are warmest, a reinforced palm survives tools, a liner rescues gloves you already own.
- Check where the elements run. Back of hand only is cheaper to build; fingertips and palm are where you feel cold, and two of our seven listings never say, one of which we can only answer because a lab looked.
- Get the fit right before you get the spec right. A loose glove burns the battery faster, and the size range is the one thing most of these listings never state.
- Price the spare batteries before you buy the glove. They are the cheapest way to a longer day, and they are easier to find for some brands than others.
One thing worth knowing if you are cold everywhere rather than just in the hands: OutdoorGearLab's advice after long days in the cold is to start with a layering system, because keeping your torso warm makes it more likely your hands and feet stay warm too. A warm core also lets you run the gloves on low, which is the setting the hours above are measured at.
Where warm hands stop and a shovel starts
Heated gloves are for the part of winter you cannot avoid: the drive that has to be cleared, the rack that has to be filled, the beds you never quite finished in November.
Our best snow shovels guide covers what your hands will actually be holding, our best cordless snow shovels guide the version that does the lifting for you, and our best firewood racks guide the stack those gloves are there to move. Our how to winterize your garden guide puts the rest of the season in order. When the ground itself is the job, that is where we live: Spear Head Spade makes one double patented digging spade, and the spade finder says which size fits your soil.
Frequently asked questions
Are heated gloves worth it?
Worth it if your hands go numb before the job is done, and not otherwise. You are paying about $72 to $150 for two to three hours of real heat on the top setting and three to eight and a half of gentle warmth on the lowest. Field & Stream's tester said his top pick was warm enough unheated that he doubted he would use the high settings at all.
How warm do heated gloves actually get?
The listings here state 104 to 158 degrees Fahrenheit across their three settings. Good Housekeeping measured the Snow Deer mittens a little above their claimed 150 and found the Savior pair fell short of its listed 149. Ski Mag notes that one premium glove is tuned to hold your hands at roughly 98.6 degrees, which is body temperature, rather than making them hot.
Can you wear heated gloves in wet snow?
Check what has been tested, not what is claimed: one Savior listing making the same waterproof claim came out of OutdoorGearLab's tank soaked, as pick 6 explains. The TIDEWE states a seven layer build with a waterproof coating and a TPU bag, and the ORORO All-Around listing declines to call itself waterproof at all, which is its own kind of answer.
Do heated gloves still work when the battery dies?
As ordinary gloves, yes, and how well depends entirely on the insulation underneath. Field & Stream found both its Ororo and Savior picks plenty warm unheated, while OutdoorGearLab warns that the Outdoor Research Sureshot has so little insulation that the warmth goes when the battery does. Outdoor Life puts it best: any battery-powered device can fail, so treat them as normal gloves that happen to have a heater.
Can you replace the batteries in heated gloves?
On four of our seven picks the listing says so outright, and Ski Mag reports that all the brands in its review sell replacements. Prices are harder to pin down than the advice suggests. Snow Deer's 7.4V 2200mAh two pack is $39.99 and its own bullet lists Snow Deer, Savior Heat and Day Wolf gloves as compatible, covering three of our picks; Savior Heat sells the same SWB01 pack for its own gloves at $43.99. For the ORORO, TIDEWE and KEMIMOTO gloves we found no spare glove battery at all: a $69.99 ORORO pack that names heated clothing without naming gloves or a voltage, a $29.99 TIDEWE power bank whose own bullet lists jackets, vests, pants and a seat cushion, and a $19.99 KEMIMOTO accessory that says it is made for KEMIMOTO heated gloves but is a 12V motorcycle harness rather than a battery.
How should you store heated gloves over the summer?
Ski Mag reports that most brands recommend recharging the batteries every two to three months through the year rather than leaving them flat, and Savior Heat's own battery listing says the same. Take the batteries out of the gloves, keep them somewhere dry and indoors, and put a reminder in your calendar with the rest of your winter prep.
The bottom line
Buy the ORORO All-Around if you want one pair for the drive, the bins and the dog, and you want the hours on it to have come from a stopwatch rather than a seller. Buy the TIDEWE at $71.99 if you would rather have the watt hours and take the seller's word, because it wins both computed columns outright. If you are standing still in real cold, the SNOW DEER mittens at $107.99 are the warmest shape here, and one of the two spare packs we could price fits them. Buy the KEMIMOTO Heated Work Gloves if you are holding tools rather than ski poles, and the day wolf liners at $115.99 if you already own gloves you like. Hard to fit? The SAVIOR HEAT is the only pick that reaches 3XL.


ORORO All-Around
TIDEWE Heated Gloves
SNOW DEER Heated Ski Mittens
KEMIMOTO Heated Work Gloves
day wolf Heated Glove Liners
SAVIOR HEAT Heated Gloves
ORORO Twin Cities 3-in-1 2.0

