The best patio heater for most backyards is the EAST OAK 50,000 BTU propane tower, which Business Insider ranked best overall, linking this ASIN, and whose 50,000 BTU model The Spruce calls the strongest of the 56 heaters it has tested. Expect real warmth about 6 to 7 feet out, not the 20 feet the listing claims. We checked every pick on Amazon on 2026-09-19. This page is one stop on our fall yard cleanup tools checklist, which puts every fall job in order.
The tower listings that state coverage sell a 15 to 20 foot circle. Three independent test teams put thermometers on heaters like these and measured useful warmth at 3 to 7 feet. Buy for the smaller number and you will be happy; buy for the bigger one and you will be cold.
One thing before the list: we make digging spades, not patio heaters, so nothing here is ours. Each pick is judged on rated output, the coverage its listing and its manufacturer state, fuel type, plus what independent testers measured.
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It does not change what we recommend or what you pay. Prices and availability were checked on 2026-09-19 and can change.
Best patio heaters at a glance
| Heater | Type and fuel | Rated output | Claimed reach | Measured reach | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
EAST OAK 50,000 BTU with sand box (best overall) |
Freestanding tower, propane | 50,000 BTU | 20 ft diameter | 6 to 7 ft (Business Insider) | A whole patio, and the surest bet |
OLIXIS 48,000 BTU with sandbox
|
Freestanding tower, propane | 48,000 BTU | 18 ft diameter | No independent measurement found | The same job for the least money |
Pamapic 89 in pyramid flame tower
|
Pyramid with quartz tube, propane | 48,000 BTU (maker) | 15 ft diameter | No independent measurement found | Wanting to see the flame |
Cuisinart COH-514 tabletop
|
Tabletop, 1 lb cylinder | 11,000 BTU | 30 sq ft | About 3 ft (Business Insider) | A bistro table or a balcony |
Dr. Infrared Heater DR-238
|
Electric infrared, standard 120V | 1500W | Not stated | Not measured in feet; TechGearLab lists a limited outdoor radius | A covered patio, porch or garage |
Cuisinart COH-400 Perfect Position
|
Directional swivel arm, propane | 38,200 BTU | Not stated | No independent measurement found | Aiming heat along a long table |
Golden Flame Resort
|
Glass tube tower, natural gas line | 40,000 BTU stated, 49,000 on the title | Not stated | No independent measurement found | A patio with gas already run to it |
None of the propane picks ships with fuel, as far as the listings say. The Pamapic and COH-400 listings say the 20 lb tank is sold separately; eastoak.com says the same for the EAST OAK. The Cuisinart tabletop runs a 1 lb cylinder; its 20 lb option needs a regulator, also extra. The OLIXIS listing is silent.
How we chose these
We did not hands-on test any of these heaters. What we did was compare each listing against its manufacturer's own product page, then against what independent reviewers who did test reported, and refuse any number that no source states. Prices, features and stock for every ASIN here were verified on 2026-09-19.
The testers we read are Business Insider, which tested ten heaters, TechGearLab, which measured heat radii, Shasta Pool Supply, which logged temperature rise at one, four and eight feet, plus The Spruce and CNET. Wirecutter calls a 50,000 BTU East Oak the strongest propane heater it has seen.
Four of the seven picks have a tester behind them; three do not, and each of those says so in its own section. Where a tester measured a variant we cannot buy we name the tester and say the variant differs, rather than transferring the verdict, and six of the seven picks have a manufacturer page behind some of their specs while the OLIXIS has none.
One gap worth naming. A model several testers like, the Hampton Bay 48,000 BTU stainless, is a Home Depot house brand and does not exist on Amazon at all. Of the tester favorites that do, one was out of stock on the day we checked and two came back scarce; all three are in the also-considered list below.
The best patio heaters, by job
1. EAST OAK 50,000 BTU propane patio heater: best overall
The EAST OAK 50,000 BTU patio heater with sand box (ASIN B09RGRDFS4) is the pick two independent testers point at. Business Insider tested an East Oak Torch and links this ASIN, measuring a 20 degree rise in 30 minutes, feeling warmth from 6 or 7 feet, and noting it was the only heater in that round with flame-out protection. The Spruce calls the East Oak 50,000 BTU the strongest of 56 heaters it has tested, though its links point at a different East Oak listing. The Amazon listing states 50,000 BTU over a 20 foot diameter, CSA and ETL certification and a water tank tested to 26.45 lbs; eastoak.com adds a 3 year warranty and says the 20 lb tank is not included. Where it loses: Business Insider's two complaints are that it wobbles until you fill the sandbox and that the controls can be hard to reach; the listing warns against winds above force 6; and eastoak.com calls the same 20 feet a diameter in one line and a radius in another.
2. OLIXIS 48,000 BTU propane patio heater: the best value here
The OLIXIS 48,000 BTU patio heater (ASIN B0HB5C1Y5Q) is the cheapest of our propane picks, and buys the same shape of heat as the winner for less. Features state 48,000 BTU over an 18 foot diameter on the same double layer 304 burner mesh our top pick uses. Its sandbox takes up to 26.45 lbs of ballast, the identical figure EAST OAK gives for its water tank, and a dual protection system cuts the gas if the flame dies or it leans past 45 degrees. Where it loses: no independent tester we read has touched an OLIXIS, nobody has measured its reach, no certification is named in the bullets, and it is the one pick with no manufacturer product page to check the listing against. Sweetcrispy sells a cheaper near twin whose listing names ground anchors and no sandbox: on soil that saves you a little for the same stated output, but on a slab you do not want to drill, the sandbox is the one that works.
3. Pamapic 89 in pyramid flame tower: the best flame view
The Pamapic 89 in pyramid patio heater (ASIN B08RNPKGZC) is here for one reason, and it is not heat: it is the only pick that puts a visible flame column on the patio without a plumbed gas line. Its Amazon bullets state no BTU figure at all; pamapic.com gives 48,000 BTU over a 15 foot diameter and a 1 year limited warranty. It runs a 20 lb tank on pulse ignition, with a side access door, triple safety protection and a fitted cover in the box, and it is the only one of our seven picks that tells you to budget about an hour for assembly. Where it loses: no tester in our set has measured a Pamapic, and every team that measured pyramids as a shape found them the weakest heaters of the lot. TechGearLab found the pyramids warmed the smallest radii of anything it measured, Shasta Pool Supply found most of a pyramid's heat goes upward rather than out to where people sit, and Business Insider's own best pyramid raised its test area by about 5 degrees against the EAST OAK's 20.
4. Cuisinart COH-514 tabletop patio heater: the best tabletop
The Cuisinart COH-514 tabletop patio heater (ASIN B0D79HT2QH) is Business Insider's best tabletop, tested at this exact ASIN. They list it at 11 pounds without a tank, found it next to silent running, and felt its warmth about 3 feet away. The listing states 11,000 BTU over 30 sq ft, an anti tilt shut off and a burner screen guard, running a 1 lb cylinder or a 20 lb tank with a regulator that is not included. Where it loses: Business Insider's own two complaints are that it reaches less far than a full-size tower and that it smells on first use, which it puts down to manufacturing residue burning off. Tangkula sells a cheaper 11,000 BTU tabletop, but it states a 2.5 ft heating radius where the Cuisinart states 30 sq ft, and no tester has measured it.
5. Dr. Infrared Heater DR-238 1500W: the best electric here
The Dr. Infrared Heater DR-238 (ASIN B077JM5PB9) is the electric to buy, and TechGearLab gave its Best Electric award to this exact model. The listing states 900W, 1200W and 1500W settings on 120V, IP55, wall and ceiling brackets and a remote; drheaterusa.com confirms the part that matters most, a standard 120V outlet with no hardwiring. Its case over a tower: no tank, no flame, and it mounts where a tower cannot stand. Where it loses: TechGearLab's own reasons to avoid are that it has to be mounted or given a tripod, and that its outdoor heat radius is limited, and its testers hit inconsistency with the remote a couple of weeks into testing. Business Insider measured a comparable 1500W electric heating only about 3 feet, so this warms two chairs, not a patio.
6. Cuisinart COH-400 Perfect Position: the best at aiming the heat
The Cuisinart COH-400 Perfect Position (ASIN B09KVLBTDT) is CNET's best overall propane pick, and it answers the measured-radius problem directly: instead of throwing heat at a mostly empty yard, a swivel arm points it where people sit. The listing and cuisinart.com both state 38,200 BTU, a 33 inch heat shield and a cone shaped burner for downward and outward distribution, plus an enclosed base that hides a 20 lb tank that is not included. Pay the extra over the OLIXIS if your seating is a long table or a row of chairs rather than a circle, because it is the only propane pick here that aims its heat. Where it loses: it is the most expensive pick here, it states 11,800 fewer BTU than our top pick, and nobody has measured how far it actually throws.
7. Golden Flame Resort natural gas: best if you have a gas line
The Golden Flame Resort Model (ASIN B08XLV9RYK) exists for one reader: the person whose patio already has a gas line. It states a rapid spark pilotless ignition, a single piece quartz tube where most residential models use two, a zippered cover, and 6 feet of gas line ending in a 3/8 inch flare. It is also the only listing here that publishes clearances from combustibles, which is why it carries the covered-patio answer further down. Where it loses: goldenflameusa.com calls it 40,000 BTU in a bullet while its own title and the Amazon listing say 49,000, so treat 40,000 as the number you own; no tester we read covers natural gas at all; and at its price it is useless without a gas line.
How far does a patio heater actually reach?
Rarely as far as the box says, and for most of these nobody has checked. Of our seven picks, two have an independent measurement and five do not. That is the state of this category, which is why this page prints the claim and the measurement in separate columns rather than splitting the difference.
| Our pick | Coverage the seller claims | What a tester measured | Who measured it |
|---|---|---|---|
| EAST OAK 50,000 BTU | 20 ft diameter | Warmth felt at 6 to 7 ft; 20 degree rise in 30 minutes | Business Insider |
| Cuisinart COH-514 tabletop | 30 sq ft | Warmth felt about 3 ft away | Business Insider |
| Dr. Infrared DR-238 | Not stated | No figure in feet; listed drawback is a limited outdoor radius | TechGearLab |
| OLIXIS 48,000 BTU | 18 ft diameter | No independent measurement found | - |
| Pamapic pyramid | 15 ft diameter | No independent measurement found | - |
| Cuisinart COH-400 | Not stated | No independent measurement found | - |
| Golden Flame Resort | Not stated | No independent measurement found | - |
The 3 to 7 foot finding rests on heaters the testers could get hold of, which are not always ones we can sell you. These are the measurements behind it.
| Heater measured | Coverage claimed | What a tester measured | Who measured it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 48,000 BTU mushroom towers, as a class | 12 to 15 ft | Works best within a 7 ft radius; 12.73 degrees of rise at 1 ft, 3.48 at 4 ft, 0.5 at 8 ft | Shasta Pool Supply |
| Member's Mark 47,000 BTU (also considered) | Not stated on Amazon | About a 6 ft comfortable radius, the widest in its set | TechGearLab |
| Dyna-Glo TT15CDGP (also considered) | 15 ft radius | Needed to be within 4 ft below 32F | TechGearLab |
| Hampton Bay 48,000 BTU stainless | Not sold on Amazon | Warm within a 5 ft radius | TechGearLab |
| Avenlur pyramid, 42,000 BTU | Not sold on Amazon | About a 4 ft radius | TechGearLab |
| Westinghouse 1500W electric | Not sold on Amazon | Heats about 3 ft | Business Insider |
Two things follow. Put the heater inside the seating, not at the edge: by four feet the temperature rise Shasta measured has dropped by about three quarters. For more than six people, Shasta Pool Supply's answer is two heaters 8 to 12 feet apart.
What does a patio heater cost to run?
Propane runs about $1.80 an hour and electric infrared about 27 cents, but they are not buying the same thing. The electric costs about a seventh as much because it delivers about a tenth the heat. Below is our own arithmetic for all fourteen models here, picks first, from one published figure and two published prices.
| Heater | Tier | Rated output | Hours on a 20 lb tank (computed) | Fuel cost per hour (computed) | Cost of a four hour evening (computed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EAST OAK 50,000 BTU | Pick 1 | 50,000 BTU | 8.6 | $1.86 | $7.44 |
| OLIXIS 48,000 BTU | Pick 2 | 48,000 BTU | 9.0 | $1.79 | $7.14 |
| Pamapic pyramid | Pick 3 | 48,000 BTU | 9.0 | $1.79 | $7.14 |
| Cuisinart COH-514 tabletop | Pick 4 | 11,000 BTU | 39.1 | $0.41 | $1.64 |
| Dr. Infrared DR-238 | Pick 5 | 1500W, about 5,118 BTU | Not applicable | $0.27 | $1.08 |
| Cuisinart COH-400 | Pick 6 | 38,200 BTU | 11.3 | $1.42 | $5.69 |
| Golden Flame Resort | Pick 7 | 40,000 BTU | Not applicable | Billed on your gas meter | Billed on your gas meter |
| Amazon Basics 46,000 BTU | Considered | 46,000 BTU | 9.3 | $1.71 | $6.85 |
| Member's Mark with LED table | Considered | 47,000 BTU | 9.1 | $1.75 | $7.00 |
| VEVOR 48,000 BTU pyramid | Considered | 48,000 BTU | 9.0 | $1.79 | $7.14 |
| ThermoMate 3000W | Considered | 3000W, about 10,236 BTU | Not applicable | $0.54 | $2.16 |
| Dyna-Glo TT15CDGP | Considered | 15,000 BTU | 28.7 | $0.56 | $2.23 |
| Hiland HLDS01-CGTHG | Considered | 40,000 BTU | 10.8 | $1.49 | $5.95 |
| Fire Sense Pyramid Flame | Out of stock 2026-09-19 | 40,000 BTU | - | - | - |
Read the fuel cost columns carefully: they are a fair way to compare two heaters of the same type and a bad way to compare across types, because the electric costs a seventh as much to run while delivering about a tenth the heat.
The assumptions, stated so you can redo the sum: a 20 lb tank holds about 430,000 BTU, which Shasta Pool Supply states outright and which its own $1.50 to $2.00 an hour range brackets our propane figures neatly; a refill costs $16, the midpoint of the $12 to $20 range propanecostpergallon.com gives for a full 20 lbs; and electricity is 18 cents per kWh, from the EIA's residential table. Watts convert at the standard 3.412 BTU each.
How many BTUs does a patio heater need?
Fewer than you think, because BTU stops being the constraint once you know the heat only travels a few feet. A 48,000 to 50,000 BTU tower is the standard answer for a patio. An 11,000 BTU tabletop is the answer for one table. Past 50,000 BTU you are buying reach that does not arrive.
| The space | Pick that fits | Where people have to sit | Where that figure comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bistro table, two chairs, a balcony | Cuisinart COH-514 | Within about 3 ft | Business Insider measured it |
| Covered patio, porch or garage bay | Dr. Infrared DR-238 | Within a few feet, mounted and aimed | TechGearLab lists a limited outdoor radius; no figure published |
| Four to six seats, open patio | OLIXIS, or the Pamapic pyramid | Within about 6 ft | TechGearLab measured 5 to 6 ft on comparable towers; neither pick itself is measured |
| Full patio, people standing | EAST OAK 50,000 BTU | Within about 6 to 7 ft | Business Insider measured it |
| Long table, heat needed at one end | Cuisinart COH-400 | Wherever the arm points | Listing states a swivel arm and a 33 in shield; no measurement exists |
| Enclosed porch or any roofed room | The DR-238 electric; no propane pick here publishes clearances for it | Mounted and aimed | Golden Flame listing (natural gas): never inside an enclosed or unventilated space. The propane listings publish no clearance figure, so check the manual and local code. |
| More than six people | Two heaters, 8 to 12 ft apart | Between them | Shasta Pool Supply's tested spacing |
Also considered: models that missed the list and why
The heaters a shopper reasonably asks about: tester picks we did not take, the names that come up first, and models we rejected for a specific reason. None of them is a bad heater. Each lost its slot to something on the list above, for the reason given.
- Amazon Basics 46,000 BTU. CNET's best budget propane and Business Insider's runner-up, stating 46,000 BTU over an 18 foot diameter, a tilt shut-off, a water box and a chain to secure the tank. It missed on its own numbers rather than its price: 4,000 fewer BTU and 2 feet less claimed coverage than our top pick, and no tester has measured its reach. Prices on both move, so if you find it materially below the EAST OAK, it is the better buy and two testers back it.
- Member's Mark Patio Heater with LED Table. TechGearLab's Editors' Choice, measured at about a 6 foot comfortable radius, the widest in its own test set. It missed our full list on documentation, not on performance: its Amazon listing runs to four short bullets, so we could not check its specifications the way we checked the others. If widest measured reach is what you are buying, this is the model TechGearLab measured widest, and the reason it is not a pick is about its paperwork, not its heat.
- VEVOR 48,000 BTU pyramid. States 48,000 BTU over an 18 foot diameter, 304 stainless and a five second ignition, and it is the listing that says a tank runs 8 to 10 hours, which matches the published figure we use above. It missed because the Pamapic does the same job for less.
- ThermoMate 3000W infrared. Tied for the most electric output here, stating 3000W over 100 sq ft outdoors, a 45 degree adjustable angle and IP54. It missed on one line of its own listing: "Must be hardwired to dedicated circuit breaker", where our electric pick plugs into a standard outlet.
- Dyna-Glo TT15CDGP tank top. The lowest price on this page, and the clearest example of the gap this guide is about: TechGearLab reports the listing claims a 15 ft radius while its testers had to stand within 4 ft to warm up below freezing. It missed because it is a work heater that mounts on top of the tank rather than a patio heater, but that gap is the widest we found.
- Hiland HLDS01-CGTHG. CNET names a Hiland HLDS01 pyramid its best tested heater, and Shasta Pool Supply measured a Hiland HLDS01 at 11.72 degrees of rise within one foot. Both tested a different variant of the HLDS01 than the one this link buys, and CNET's carried a far lower price, so treat the verdict as being about the family and not this exact unit. It missed on stock, scarce on 2026-09-19.
- Fire Sense Pyramid Flame 40,000 BTU. Business Insider's best pyramid, stating 40,000 BTU and a tip-over protection system. It missed for the plainest reason on this page: on 2026-09-19 it returned no price at all and read out of stock.
What is the best patio heater?
The best patio heater is the EAST OAK 50,000 BTU propane tower, and the number to buy it on is 6 to 7 feet, which is how far Business Insider felt its warmth. It is the only pick here with both a measured reach and a tester's best-overall verdict.
What is the best propane patio heater?
The best propane patio heater is the EAST OAK 50,000 BTU tower, on Business Insider's top pick and The Spruce's verdict on the model. Buy the OLIXIS if you want the same job for less, or the Cuisinart COH-400 if aiming the heat matters more.
What is the best electric patio heater?
The best electric patio heater is the Dr. Infrared DR-238, the exact model TechGearLab gave its Best Electric award, running on a standard 120V outlet and mounting to a wall or ceiling. If you have a 240V supply, the same maker's DR-239 states 10,260 BTU from 3000W.
Electric infrared wins on what a tank cannot do: nothing to refill, no flame, and a mounted unit that frees the floor. It loses on reach. Every tester who measured an electric found a small radius, so treat one as a heater for the seats it points at.
Can you use a patio heater under a covered patio?
It depends on the fuel, and the listing is where the answer lives. The electric pick is built for it: the DR-238 names patios, garages and decks, and ships with wall and ceiling brackets. Gas is the opposite, and only one gas listing here publishes numbers at all.
That Golden Flame listing is strict: outdoor use only, never inside a house, garage, tent or any enclosed or unventilated space, because combustion produces carbon monoxide. It sets a minimum clearance from combustibles of 36 inches above and 24 inches to the sides, and says to keep clear of awnings, umbrellas and overhangs. Six of the seven picks here publish no clearance figure at all, so for those the honest answer is that it is in the manual and in your local code, and we will not invent one.
Is it cheaper to rent or buy a patio heater?
Buying wins from the second or third evening on, and faster than most people expect, because a rental yard's propane runs $35 to $60 a tank against about $16 to refill one you own. Renting still wins in one real case, and it is worth knowing which.
Published rates we found on 2026-09-19 run $55 to $85 for a day: Bay Area Event Rentals lists $55, The Columbus Photo Booth Company $85 for up to eight hours, and AA Rental Center contradicts itself, quoting $80 a day for a 40,000 BTU heater in its FAQ against $60 in its own rate table. Take the lower $60 and both towers are ahead on the third evening; at the Columbus $85, both are ahead on the second.
Where renting genuinely wins is a one-off crowd. Shasta Pool Supply puts a 48,000 BTU tower at four to six people, so a party of fifteen is three heaters at the 8 to 12 foot spacing above, and buying three OLIXIS costs about what renting three for the evening does once propane is added. For one party that is a coin toss you should not have to store; for a second party, buy.
How do you choose a patio heater?
Choose by where people will actually sit, then by fuel. Measure the seating area, assume useful warmth reaches about 6 feet from a tower and about 3 feet from an electric, and place the heater inside that circle. A roof means electric infrared; an open patio means propane; an existing gas line settles it.
- Trust measured reach over claimed coverage. Four of our seven picks publish a coverage figure on their listings, and one of them, the Pamapic, publishes its BTU only on the maker's page. Three test teams measured 3 to 7 feet on heaters claiming 12 to 20.
- Plan the ballast before the wind does. The EAST OAK takes 26.45 lbs of water and the OLIXIS the same in sand or water, and EAST OAK's own bullets say not to run it above force 6.
- Check what the plug needs. The DR-238 states a standard 120V outlet and no hardwiring. Its bigger DR-239 sibling states 220V to 240V, which a standard 120V outlet does not supply; check the manual and local code.
- Ask how long assembly takes, because almost nobody says. The Pamapic is the only one of our picks that gives a figure, about an hour, and that silence is worth budgeting an evening for.
Where does a patio heater stop and the yard begin?
A heater buys you the patio in October and November. It does nothing for the beds, and the beds are on a clock: our how to protect plants from frost guide covers the first cold nights, and how to winterize your garden covers the rest of the shutdown.
If what you really want is something to sit around rather than stand under, that is a different tool, and our best propane fire pits guide covers it, and our best smokeless fire pits guide covers the wood-burning kind. The rest of the cold season is firewood and dirt work, which is where we live: our best log splitters guide handles the pile, and our best firewood racks guide handles keeping it dry. Spear Head Spade makes one double patented digging spade, and the spade finder says which size fits your soil.
Frequently asked questions
How long does a 20 lb propane tank last in a patio heater?
A full 20 lb tank holds about 430,000 BTU, a figure Shasta Pool Supply states outright, so divide it by the heater's rated output. The cost table above runs that sum for every pick: about 9 hours on a 48,000 BTU tower, 8.6 on our 50,000 BTU top pick, and 39 on the 11,000 BTU tabletop.
Can you use a patio heater in a garage?
It depends on the fuel. The Dr. Infrared DR-238 names garages among its intended spaces, because it burns nothing and makes no fumes. The Golden Flame natural gas listing says never to operate it inside a house, garage or tent, or any enclosed or unventilated space, because combustion produces carbon monoxide.
Do patio heaters work in the wind?
Poorly, and the testers are blunt about it. Shasta Pool Supply found even a 5 to 7 mph breeze creates cold spots on the windy side, and EAST OAK's own listing advises against running its tower above force 6. Ballast helps the heater stay upright, not the heat stay put: both towers here take 26.45 lbs.
How much clearance does a patio heater need?
Only one listing on this page gives figures. The Golden Flame natural gas heater states a minimum clearance from combustibles of 36 inches above and 24 inches to the sides, and tells you to keep it clear of awnings, umbrellas and overhangs. For any other model, check the manual and local code.
Why will a patio heater not stay lit?
Usually because a safety device is doing its job. The OLIXIS and Pamapic listings both name flame failure protection that shuts off the gas when the flame goes out, and the OLIXIS adds a tilt cut off past 45 degrees. None of the seven listings gives a troubleshooting procedure, so this is a manual question.
Can you leave a patio heater outside in the rain?
The listings do not say you can. The Dr. Infrared DR-238 is rated IP55 and the Pamapic and the Golden Flame both include a fitted cover; the other five picks include nothing, and no listing here describes leaving a heater uncovered through a winter. Store it dry and use the cover if one came with it.
The bottom line
Buy the EAST OAK 50,000 BTU if you want the heater Business Insider ranked first, or the OLIXIS 48,000 BTU to spend less. Buy the Dr. Infrared DR-238 if you have a roof and an outlet. Then sit within six feet of whichever one you bought.










