The best smokeless fire pit for most yards is the Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0 with Stand. Five outlets that tested it, Bob Vila, Popular Mechanics, OutdoorGearLab, Yahoo and The Barbecue Lab, all put it on their lists, and buying it with the stand matters: Solo Stove says a wooden deck is a no-go without one. For big fires and cooking over the flames, the Breeo X Series 24. If the pit will stay put on stone or pavers, the TIKI Patio comes with its own stand, cover and ash pan; if you want to move it around, the Bonfire.
Smokeless means less smoke, not none. Consumer Reports' test lead says none of the smokeless fire pits it has tested makes a truly smokeless fire, and the testers we read describe smoke while the fire catches and whenever the wood is wet.
Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It does not change what we recommend or what you pay. Availability was checked on Amazon on September 28, 2026 and can change; we do not print prices because they move, so every "Check price" link shows today's.
Jump to: Sizes and log lengths compared | What size you need | Decks | Best wood | Wood or propane
Best smokeless fire pits at a glance
| Fire pit | Best for | The deciding fact | On a wood deck? (maker) | Tested by | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1. Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0 with Stand
|
best overall | Moves around: stand, ash pan and carry case included; 19.5 in, 23.3 lb pit; Gunmetal finish on this listing | Only on the included stand, per Solo Stove | Bob Vila, Popular Mechanics, OutdoorGearLab, Yahoo, The Barbecue Lab | amazon |
2. Breeo X Series 24, Corten Steel |
best for big fires and cooking | Takes 20 inch logs, the longest measured among the picks; fits Breeo's cooking accessories; 62 lb | Breeo sells the Breeo Base for decks | Popular Mechanics, Yahoo, OutdoorGearLab | amazon |
3. TIKI Patio 25-Inch Smokeless Fire Pit |
best for patios and easy cleanup | A fixed centerpiece for stone or pavers: stand, cover and ash pan included; lights from a pellet pack | The listing names decks, but The Barbecue Lab says it is not recommended over combustible surfaces | Popular Mechanics, Bob Vila, Yahoo, The Barbecue Lab | amazon |
4. Breeo Y Series, 21 in |
best for camping and tailgating | Burns wood, pellets or lump charcoal; carry handle and adjustable legs; 31 lb | Yes, per Breeo, with the legs at the highest setting on composite | Bob Vila, Popular Mechanics, The Barbecue Lab | amazon |
5. Cuisinart Cleanburn 24-Inch |
best for beginners | 24 in bowl at 22 lb; Yahoo's tester, not confident at starting fires, got a strong blaze going easily | Cuisinart does not say | Yahoo, Popular Mechanics, OutdoorGearLab | amazon |
6. East Oak Fuoco 21-Inch |
best budget | Integrated stand, ash pan and carry bag; the lowest-cost full-size pick | East Oak recommends its fire pit mat | OutdoorGearLab | amazon |
7. Solo Stove Mesa XL Tabletop |
best tabletop | 7 in, 2.3 lb; burns wood or pellets; stand and carry bag included | The listing does not say | Popular Mechanics, Bob Vila | amazon |
How we chose these
We did not test these fire pits, and we do not make them: we make digging spades, so nothing here is ours. We read five roundups whose writers state they burned these pits, Popular Mechanics, Bob Vila (plus its 2026 fire pit roundup), OutdoorGearLab, Yahoo and The Barbecue Lab, plus Consumer Reports for its test method and safety advice, and checked every pick against its Amazon listing and the maker's own page. Every pick was in stock on Amazon on September 28, 2026. Pick 1 is the listing with the stand, the version Solo Stove says a wooden deck needs.
The best smokeless fire pits, by job
1. Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0 with Stand: best overall
Check price. The Bonfire 2.0 is a 19.5 inch, double-walled 304 stainless steel cylinder. The linked listing is the Gunmetal color, with a high-heat ceramic coating over the stainless. Solo Stove lists the pit at 14.3 inches tall and 23.3 lb, with a 2.8 inch stainless stand and a warranty it calls lifetime, and the listing adds a carrying case and a removable ash pan.
Why it is the pick: it is the model the most testers agree on. Bob Vila named it best overall in both its smokeless roundup and its 2026 fire pit roundup, Popular Mechanics called it the best value, Yahoo named it both its best value and its best portable pit, OutdoorGearLab made it its pick for smaller backyards, and The Barbecue Lab chose it for the backyard. Bob Vila reports it took about 10 minutes to go smokeless, and that it only smoked with wet, green or rotted wood or with wood stacked above the rim. OutdoorGearLab measured a 60 minute burn and found it kept smoke down at every stage, including the smoldering end when other pits smoked. The search summaries of Serious Eats and Wirecutter, whose full reviews we could not open, also point to a Solo Stove Bonfire, though Wirecutter's names the Classic Bonfire rather than the 2.0.
Where it loses: it eats wood; Bob Vila says to plan on 1.5 to 2 times as much firewood as a traditional pit. Its heat goes mostly up: Popular Mechanics found it did not really reach their feet on a cool day, and OutdoorGearLab lists upward heat and a smaller log capacity, 16 inches, as cons. Yahoo found the frame gets very hot and takes at least an hour to cool before you can empty it, and Bob Vila 2026 notes thin walls that can dent. Popular Mechanics lists stainless discoloring from heat over time as a con; the Gunmetal listing is ceramic coated, and no tester we read reports on how that finish ages. The stand is not optional on wood: OutdoorGearLab burned a hole in its deck before it had one.
2. Breeo X Series 24, Corten Steel: best for big fires and cooking
Check price. A 27.5 inch double-wall pit in corten, a weathering steel that Breeo says develops a protective patina, with Breeo's raised X at the bottom to feed air under the logs. The listing says it works with Breeo's live-fire cooking accessories. Breeo builds its pits in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and its page shows a limited lifetime warranty.
Why it is the pick: Popular Mechanics used it for several months and named it best overall, Yahoo named it best for grilling, and OutdoorGearLab called it the most durable pit it tested, since its corten steel can sit out in the weather. It takes the longest logs of any pick with a measured figure: Popular Mechanics fit 18 to 20 inch logs, and OutdoorGearLab measured 20 inches. Popular Mechanics also lists that it radiates heat well.
Where it loses: weight and cleanup. OutdoorGearLab and Popular Mechanics both put it at 62 lb, and Popular Mechanics says it weighs more than twice as much as the other models it tested. There is no ash pan, per Popular Mechanics and OutdoorGearLab (Yahoo's spec table lists one; the other two testers say otherwise), so you scoop the ash out. There is no stand in the box either: for a deck, Breeo sells the Breeo Base, which its listing says protects wood and composite. Yahoo adds that the cooking accessories cost extra.
3. TIKI Patio 25-Inch Smokeless Fire Pit: best for patios and easy cleanup
Check price. A 24.75 inch pit, 43 lb per TIKI, of 16 gauge stainless steel with a black powder-coated finish, and the listing includes a stand, a weather-resistant cover and a removable ash pan. It burns firewood or TIKI Wood Packs, bags of pellets you light at the corners, and the listing states a 4 foot heat radius. The Barbecue Lab reports a 2 year warranty.
Why it is the pick: four testers put it on their lists, more than any pick but the Bonfire, and two of them for cleanup. Bob Vila named it best design and, in 2026, best easy-clean, Yahoo named it its easiest cleanup, Popular Mechanics named it best for patios and found it as smokeless as any pit it tested, and The Barbecue Lab says lighting it with the pellet bags simply does not get any easier. Yahoo's testers still felt its heat 4 feet and more away, and Bob Vila says it comfortably seats eight guests within the heat ring.
Where it loses: a shallow firebox. Popular Mechanics measured it at eight inches and used 12 to 13 inch logs, and Bob Vila says the small chamber needs refilling more often. At 43 lb, Yahoo recommends two people to move it, and its tester needed a drill to line up one bolt. The pellet packs are quick but brief: Yahoo's lasted about 30 minutes. The listing mentions decks, but The Barbecue Lab reports it is not recommended over combustible surfaces, so set it where NFPA says a pit belongs: patio blocks, brick or concrete.
4. Breeo Y Series, 21 in: best for camping and tailgating
Check price. A 21 inch stainless pit at 31 lb, per the listing, with a built-in carry handle and legs that adjust. Breeo says it has a built-in heat shield for use on all surfaces including wood and composite decks, with the legs at the highest setting on composite; see the deck section for what NFPA and Consumer Reports say. Bob Vila says the legs raise it from 15 to 20 inches, and Breeo's page shows a limited lifetime warranty.
Why it is the pick: three testers chose it for the road and the grill. Popular Mechanics named it best for camping and tailgating, The Barbecue Lab best for tailgating, and Bob Vila rated it the runner-up and, in 2026, its best multi-fuel pit. It burns firewood, pellets or lump charcoal, fits logs up to 16 inches (Popular Mechanics), and went smokeless in 5 to 10 minutes in Popular Mechanics' test. Bob Vila says one bundle of wood burned close to 3 hours, and Popular Mechanics found its 15 inch burning height put more heat on their legs.
Where it loses: weight, for something you carry. At 31 lb it is heavier than four other picks, which Bob Vila and Popular Mechanics both flag, and Bob Vila adds that it takes time to heat fully. With no ash pan, The Barbecue Lab calls it the hardest of its five to clean: you flip it over or vacuum it.
5. Cuisinart Cleanburn 24-Inch: best for beginners
Check price. A 24 inch stainless bowl on a base that doubles as the ash tray, with a wind guard ring on top. The listing gives 22 lb and wood logs or chunks up to 18 inches; Cuisinart's own page says the same log size and shows a 1 year limited warranty.
Why it is the pick: it is an easy start for someone who is not good at fires. Yahoo made it its best overall, and its tester, who calls herself not the best at starting fires, got a strong blaze going easily in the wide bowl. OutdoorGearLab lists it as easy to ignite and found it the simplest of all its pits to set up, ready right out of the box. Popular Mechanics named it best for easy cleanup, because the bowl twists off and you dump the base, and saw nearly no smoke once past lighting.
Where it loses: the bowl shape cuts both ways. Popular Mechanics' 14 inch logs would not drop to the bottom, which made a big fire harder to build and keep going, and OutdoorGearLab measured a 16 inch maximum log and lists it as difficult to clean and not very portable, the opposite of Popular Mechanics and Yahoo on cleanup. Yahoo's tester, who also owns a Solo Stove, found it slightly smokier, and it comes with no accessories.
6. East Oak Fuoco 21-Inch: best budget
Check price. A 21 inch double-wall pit with an integrated stand, a removable ash pan and a carry bag. East Oak gives 16.8 lb, a 17.8 inch inside diameter and a recommended wood length of 14 to 16 inches, with a 3 year warranty, and says the outer wall is 304 stainless and the other parts 430 stainless.
Why it is the pick: OutdoorGearLab gave it a Best Buy award and calls it the best deal on a conventional dual-burn fire pit, with small legs that keep most of the pit off a deck. It is the lowest-cost full-size pick, and only one tester has run it, so it is here on OutdoorGearLab's word: Bob Vila's budget pick, the Blue Sky Ridge, is out of stock in the listing it tested.
Where it loses: OutdoorGearLab says it takes smaller logs and that it could not get the fire quite as hot; it scored lower on smoke than the Solo Stoves. East Oak's page lists pellets as a fuel, but East Oak's own answer on the same page says the 21 inch cannot burn pellets because they fall through the bottom, so plan on wood.
7. Solo Stove Mesa XL Tabletop: best tabletop
Check price. A 7 inch tabletop fire pit, 8.6 inches tall and 2.3 lb per Popular Mechanics and Bob Vila, with a built-in pellet adapter, and the listing says a stand and a nylon carry bag are included.
Why it is the pick: both testers who ran the XL named it their best tabletop. Bob Vila found its fires look like the Bonfire's, going smoke-free within 10 minutes or less, and that chunks of wood about 2 inches thick and 6 to 7 inches long gave the longest burn. It is the only pick sized for an outdoor table.
Where it loses: it is a small fire. Popular Mechanics' tester got 30 to 35 minutes from a full load, and Bob Vila added pellets or wood every 15 minutes or so. Bob Vila also says the sides and rim become dangerously hot, and because it sits on a table at arm's length, that matters more around children.
Smokeless fire pit sizes compared: log length, weight and burn time
One number decides how much wood-cutting a fire pit asks of you: the longest log it takes, and of our seven picks' Amazon listings only the Cuisinart's prints it. This table puts it next to size and weight for both tiers, including Solo Stove's sizes from the 7 inch Mesa XL through the Bonfire and the Basecamp to the Yukon. Sizes and weights are the maker's or the listing's unless marked; longest log and burn time are OutdoorGearLab's measurements unless marked, and OutdoorGearLab's burn time is one test per pit, so read it as a comparison, not a promise.
| Fire pit | Tier | Across x tall | Weight | Longest log | Burn time (OutdoorGearLab) | Stand in the box | Ash pan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0 with Stand | Pick 1 | 19.5 x 14.3 in, stand adds 2.8 in | 23.3 lb pit, 1.7 lb stand; 21.2 lb measured | 16 in | 60 min | Yes | Yes |
| Breeo X Series 24 | Pick 2 | 27.5 x 14.75 in (Popular Mechanics) | 62 lb measured | 20 in | 50 min | No | No |
| TIKI Patio 25-Inch | Pick 3 | 24.75 x 18.75 in | 43 lb | Not measured; Popular Mechanics used 12 to 13 in | Not measured | Yes | Yes |
| Breeo Y Series | Pick 4 | 21 in, legs 15 to 20 in (Bob Vila) | 31 lb | 16 in (Popular Mechanics) | Not measured | Legs built in | No |
| Cuisinart Cleanburn 24-Inch | Pick 5 | 24 x 16 in (Yahoo) | 22 lb; 23.4 lb measured | 16 in (listing says 18 in) | 40 min | Base doubles as ash tray | Yes |
| East Oak Fuoco 21-Inch | Pick 6 | 20 x 14.25 in measured | 16.8 lb; 17.8 lb measured | 16 in (East Oak says 14 to 16 in) | 47 min | Yes, integrated | Yes |
| Solo Stove Mesa XL | Pick 7 | 7 x 8.6 in (Popular Mechanics) | 2.3 lb (Popular Mechanics) | 6 to 7 in chunks (Bob Vila) | Not measured; 30 to 35 min full (Popular Mechanics) | Yes | No (Popular Mechanics) |
| Solo Stove Yukon 2.0 bundle | Also considered | 26.5 x 17 in measured | Just over 43 lb; 42 lb measured | 22 in | 70 min | Yes | Yes |
| TIKI Reunion 27.5-Inch | Also considered | 28 x 19.75 in measured | 60 lb measured | 17 in | 60 min | Yes | Yes |
| Breeo X Series 19 | Also considered | 22 in outside, 19 in inside | Not stated | Not measured | Not measured | No | Not stated |
| Solo Stove Basecamp 24-Inch | Also considered | 24.6 in | 30.5 lb | Not measured | Not measured | Yes | Yes |
| PACKFIRE 22-Inch | Also considered | 17 x 22.4 in (Popular Mechanics) | About 35 lb; 27.5 lb (Popular Mechanics) | Full-length logs (listing) | Not measured | QuickDraw legs | Yes |
| Cuisinart Cleanburn 19.5-Inch | Also considered | 19.5 in | 20 lb | 14 in (listing) | Not measured | Legs | Yes |
| Blue Sky Ridge (in-stock listing) | Also considered | 15.76 x 12.49 in | Not stated (Bob Vila's out-of-stock unit: 14.8 lb) | Short pieces; cut store wood in half (Bob Vila) | Not measured | Not stated | Not stated |
| VEVOR 19.3-Inch | Also considered | 19.3 x 15.4 in | Not stated | Not measured | Not measured | 3 foot pads | Yes |
One thing stands out: every pit in the table under about 30 lb that has a measured log length tops out at 16 inches, so among the pits with a measured figure, the carryable ones need cut-down wood; the 20 and 22 inch pits weigh 42 lb and more. The PACKFIRE, whose listing says it takes full-length logs, has no measured figure to test that against.
Also considered: models that missed the list and why
Solo Stove Yukon Backyard Bundle 2.0. The Yukon 2.0 is OutdoorGearLab's best backyard fire pit: it measured 42 lb, 22 inch logs and a 70 minute burn, the longest of the wood pits it measured. Yahoo's best large pick is the Yukon with a stand, without naming the generation, and its tester says it keeps eight or more people warm. It missed because the only Yukon 2.0 listing our Amazon searches returned is this accessory bundle, and it came back scarce.
TIKI Reunion 27.5-Inch. The bigger TIKI, which OutdoorGearLab ranked fourth of 16 with its favorite cleanup system and heat felt past six feet. The listing includes a stand, a cover and a 2 year warranty and says it seats 6 to 8. It missed because the TIKI Patio does the same job on a smaller footprint with more testers behind it, and OutdoorGearLab lists it as heavy with a small inner diameter for its size.
Solo Stove Bonfire Essential Bundle. The listing Popular Mechanics links for the Bonfire 2.0: the same 19.5 inch Bonfire 2.0 with a stand and a lid, though its listing does not mention the carry case or name a color. Buy it instead of pick 1 if you want the lid.
Breeo X Series 19, Corten Steel. The smaller X, 22 inches outside and 19 inside per Breeo, which calls it best for small spaces. A landscape contractor Yahoo interviewed likes the 19 and the 24 for small and medium yards. It missed because no tester we read ran it.
PACKFIRE 22-Inch. Popular Mechanics' best portable, a pit that folds flat into a backpack and, per its listing, takes full-length logs. It missed on smoke: Popular Mechanics lists more visible smoke than the other options as its con, and on this page smoke is the point.
Blue Sky Ridge Smokeless Fire Pit. Bob Vila's best bang for the buck, a small 15.76 inch pit for pellets or short firewood; Bob Vila says to plan on cutting store-bought firewood in half to fit it. The listing it tested is out of stock, and neither in-stock Ridge listing (one adds a spark screen, one describes a new patent-pending design) is provably the same unit.
Blue Sky Peak Smokeless Patio Fire Pit. The Barbecue Lab named it best licensed, but measured its outside at 530 degrees and more, against 230 to 260 for the Breeo Y, the Solo Stove and the TIKI, and found that concerning with its dog wandering nearby. With that finding and a scarce listing, we do not recommend it.
Solo Stove Basecamp 24-Inch with Stand, Cuisinart Cleanburn 19.5-Inch, Grovellis 27-Inch and VEVOR 19.3-Inch. All in stock and all untested by anyone we read. The Basecamp is a 24.6 inch Solo Stove at 30.5 lb with its stand included; the smaller Cleanburn takes logs up to 14 inches; the Grovellis listing itself says not to use it on grass or wooden floors. Two tester picks did not turn up on Amazon in our searches: the Solo Stove Summit, Popular Mechanics' best mid-size pit, and the BioLite FirePit+, which Bob Vila and The Barbecue Lab both picked.
What size smokeless fire pit do you need?
Whatever size you buy, NFPA and the U.S. Fire Administration say to keep it at least 10 feet from your house and anything that can burn. Minnesota's fire code, one state's example, keeps a portable outdoor fireplace 15 feet from structures, and Consumer Reports says at least 10 feet and ideally 20 to 25 where you have room.
So choose the size by who sits around it. Bob Vila says larger pits up to 30 inches suit gatherings of up to six, and a portable one around 13.5 inches suits two to four. For the picks, where a maker or tester says:
- Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0: Solo Stove says it seats 4 to 6, Bob Vila says 3 to 5, and Yahoo's testers still felt its heat from four feet away.
- Breeo X Series 24: Breeo says it fits 4 or more chairs, and Yahoo felt its heat 4 feet and more out. Breeo says its X30 fits 8 or more.
- TIKI Patio: Bob Vila says it comfortably seats eight within the heat ring and could fit up to 10; Yahoo felt heat 4 feet and more out.
- Cuisinart Cleanburn 24-Inch: Yahoo felt its heat 3 feet and more out.
- East Oak Fuoco: the listing says 4 to 6 people.
- Solo Stove Mesa XL: a tabletop fire; Popular Mechanics says it is large enough to roast a few marshmallows or hot dogs.
- For eight or more: Yahoo's tester says the Yukon keeps eight or more warm, and OutdoorGearLab felt the TIKI Reunion's heat past six feet.
If warm feet matter, height matters as much as width. Popular Mechanics found the Bonfire's heat mostly went up and did not really reach their feet on a cool day, while the Breeo Y's 15 inch burning height put more heat on their legs. OutdoorGearLab says Solo Stove's heat deflector, sold separately, increases the Bonfire's warmth, and the TIKI's listing names a heat deflector among its compatible accessories.
Check your own town before you buy. NFPA says to ask your local fire department first, since some places never allow outdoor fires and many restrict them, and Minnesota's code notes that cities can add rules above the state's, such as limits on wind speed. Don't burn at all on windy, dry days, NFPA says, and keep a hose, a bucket of water, or a shovel with dirt or sand close by.
Can you put a smokeless fire pit on a deck?
The fire-safety sources say no; some makers say yes with their hardware. NFPA says to keep fire pits away from decks and deck railings and to set them on a surface that will not catch fire, such as patio blocks, bricks or concrete. Consumer Reports says to avoid decks, because wood burns and some composites can soften or even melt at temperatures as low as 175 F. Bob Vila's outdoor remodeling source makes an exception for composite decking, and even then recommends a stand or a mat made for under fire pits.
Here is what each maker says about its own pit:
- Solo Stove Bonfire: Solo Stove says a wooden deck is a no-go unless you use its fire pit stand. Pick 1 includes it. OutdoorGearLab burned a hole in its deck before it had the stand.
- Breeo X Series 24: no stand in the box. Breeo sells the Breeo Base, which it says protects the surface beneath your fire pit so you can burn on decks, patios and other surfaces.
- TIKI Patio: the listing names decks among the places to use it. The Barbecue Lab reports it is not recommended over combustible surfaces.
- Breeo Y Series: Breeo says its built-in heat shield allows burning on wood and composite decks, with the legs at the highest setting on composite. The Barbecue Lab found it safe over combustible surfaces with the legs in the burn or cook position.
- Cuisinart Cleanburn: neither the listing nor Cuisinart's product page says anything about decks.
- East Oak Fuoco: East Oak recommends its fire pit mat to protect your surfaces; OutdoorGearLab says its small legs keep most of the pit off the deck.
- Solo Stove Mesa XL: the listing says the included stand keeps it stable on any surface and says nothing about heat on the surface below. Bob Vila says its sides and rim become dangerously hot.
Never use one under a covered patio or roof: Consumer Reports warns that trapped smoke carries carbon monoxide, and Popular Mechanics notes that even low-smoke pits produce it.
How does a smokeless fire pit work?
With a second wall and a second fire. The pit has two walls with a gap between them. Air comes in through holes near the bottom of the outer wall, the fire heats it as it rises between the walls, and it comes out through a row of holes just below the rim. That hot, oxygen-rich air lights the smoke and gases before they leave the pit, which Popular Mechanics and Bob Vila both describe, and which you can see as jets of flame from those top holes. Breeo adds a raised X across the floor so air keeps reaching the logs as ash builds up, and Consumer Reports says the double wall also traps heat against the fire chamber, which helps the wood light fully.
The same design explains the trade-offs. With air pulled in constantly, the fire burns hotter and faster, so you use more wood and get less ash; Popular Mechanics found both. And because the heat rises out of a tall cylinder, it goes up more than out, which is why OutdoorGearLab and Popular Mechanics say the Bonfire does not warm your feet much and why several makers sell heat deflectors.
Are smokeless fire pits really smokeless?
No, and they are still worth it if smoke is what keeps you from using a fire pit. Consumer Reports' project lead says none it has tested is truly smokeless, only smoke-less than a conventional fire, and Consumer Reports adds that a fire is smokiest while the wood is first catching. The Barbecue Lab says all five of its pits smoke less and none is 100 percent smokeless, and it burned all five at once without the writer's hair smelling of smoke the next morning. Popular Mechanics notes you still get exhaust gases and the campfire smell, more so in a breeze.
Three things bring the smoke back, and the testers agree on them. Wet or green wood: The Barbecue Lab says no wood-burning pit will be smokeless with it. Wood stacked above the top holes, where the second burn happens: Bob Vila saw smoke when logs rose above the rim, and The Barbecue Lab says to keep wood below the top vents. And the first few minutes: Solo Stove itself says a little startup smoke is normal. OutdoorGearLab's rule of thumb is that any pit burns nearly smokeless if you do not overfill it past the rim, leave room for air and burn dry wood; a smokeless pit just gives you more margin.
What is the best wood for a smokeless fire pit?
Ordinary firewood, as long as it is dry, split and seasoned below 20 percent moisture; NFPA says to burn only clean, dry, seasoned hardwood in a wood-burning pit. The EPA says to burn only dry, split, well-seasoned wood, season it for at least six months, and store it outdoors off the ground with only the top covered, because covering the sides traps moisture. It says wood burns best under 20 percent moisture and to check with a wood moisture meter. Cornell Cooperative Extension adds that green wood takes at least six months to dry below 20 percent, longer in shade, and that a meter only reads near the surface, so split a piece and test the fresh face; OutdoorGearLab gives the same advice. Seasoned wood shows checks, small cracks, in the end grain and sounds crisp when two pieces are knocked together, Cornell says.
Then size it to the pit. Use the longest-log column in the table above, and cut to fit rather than letting logs stick up past the rim. Breeo's advice is to start small, with kindling and then split logs 3 to 4 inches thick, because big logs added early cool the fire. Popular Mechanics' tester on the Breeo X24 fit logs 18 to 20 inches long; the Mesa XL wants chunks about 6 to 7 inches long, per Bob Vila.
Never burn treated lumber, painted wood, trash or cardboard: the EPA and Minnesota's fire code both rule them out, and Bob Vila adds driftwood and sappy softwoods. If you split your own, our log splitter guide covers the machines, and our firewood rack guide covers keeping a stack off the ground and covered on top the way the EPA describes. Cornell suggests keeping the woodpile about 30 feet from the house, since rodents and insects live in it.
Is a smokeless fire pit the best wood burning fire pit?
For most backyards, yes, if smoke is the complaint. A smokeless pit is a wood-burning pit with a double wall, and the trade is wood: Bob Vila says the Bonfire goes through about 1.5 to 2 times as much firewood as a traditional pit. OutdoorGearLab's traditional steel lattice pit took logs up to 23 inches, longer than any smokeless pit it measured, but it lists lots of smoke compared with smokeless options as its con. If you want an open fire you tend all evening and do not mind smoke in your clothes, a traditional pit still works. If the smoke is the reason you stopped using yours, buy one of the picks above.
Smokeless wood or propane?
Propane if you want no smoke at all, no ash, or a fire where wood is banned; wood if you want a real campfire and the most heat. Bob Vila says propane pits create no smoke but lack the cozy campfire feel, and OutdoorGearLab found its propane pick passes most fire restrictions and needs almost no cleanup. On heat, Yahoo's testers had to sit closer to their propane pit than to the wood ones, and its flames were more at the mercy of the wind. Our best propane fire pits guide covers that side. And if what you want is to stay warm under a covered patio, where no fire pit belongs, one of our best patio heaters is the tool for it.
A word from the people who wrote this
We are Spear Head Spade, and we make double-patented digging spades, not fire pits, so nothing on this list is ours. The one dirt job here is the level, noncombustible pad NFPA asks for, of pavers, brick or concrete: cutting out the sod for it is spade work, and our guide to removing sod shows how. If you are choosing a spade for it, our spade finder matches one to your soil.
Frequently asked questions
Breeo vs Solo Stove: which is better?
Solo Stove for most people, Breeo for cooking and durability. The Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0 is lighter, has a removable ash pan and appears on more tester lists than any other pit. The Breeo X24 takes longer logs, works with Breeo's cooking accessories, and OutdoorGearLab found it the most durable pit it tested, but it weighs 62 lb and has no ash pan.
Which is better, the Breeo X19 or X24?
The X24 for most yards. Breeo calls the X24 its bestseller and ideal for most spaces and the X19 best for small spaces; the X19 is 22 inches outside and 19 inside. A landscape contractor Yahoo interviewed likes either for a small or medium yard and suggests the X30 for groups of six or more. Only the X24 has been tested by the reviewers we read.
Which is better, TIKI or Solo Stove?
The TIKI Patio for a fixed spot on a patio, the Solo Stove Bonfire if you want to move it. The TIKI includes a stand, a cover and an ash pan and lights from a pellet pack, but TIKI lists it at 43 lb and its firebox is shallow. The Bonfire comes to 25 lb with its stand, by Solo Stove's figures of 23.3 and 1.7 lb, takes 16 inch logs and packs into a carry case.
Can you roast marshmallows or cook on a smokeless fire pit?
Yes. Yahoo's testers roasted marshmallows in every pit they tested, and Popular Mechanics says even the tabletop Mesa XL is large enough to roast a few marshmallows or hot dogs. For real cooking, Breeo's listings say the X24 and Y Series work with its cooking accessories: Popular Mechanics calls the Y Series with Breeo's Outpost Grill a competent barbecue, and Yahoo says that with its accessories you could easily use the X24 in place of a grill.
How far from the house should a smokeless fire pit be?
At least 10 feet from your house and anything else that can burn, per NFPA and the U.S. Fire Administration, and Consumer Reports suggests 20 to 25 feet where you have room. Your local code can require more: Minnesota's fire code, for example, keeps portable outdoor fireplaces 15 feet from structures. Ask your fire department before your first fire.
Can you use a smokeless fire pit under a covered patio?
No. Consumer Reports says never to use one on a covered patio, because wood smoke contains carbon monoxide that can build up under a roof, and Popular Mechanics notes that even low-smoke pits produce it. NFPA also says to keep fire pits out from under eaves and overhanging branches.
How do you clean a smokeless fire pit?
Wait until it is completely cool, then empty the ash pan or scoop out the ash. Yahoo found the Solo Stoves take at least an hour to cool. Breeo says to clean out its pits every 3 to 4 uses so ash does not block the airflow, and Yahoo warns that on Solo Stoves, rain mixed with ash can become corrosive, so cover them between fires. The EPA says to put ashes in a covered metal container stored outdoors on a surface that will not burn.


1. Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0 with Stand
2. Breeo X Series 24, Corten Steel
3. TIKI Patio 25-Inch Smokeless Fire Pit
4. Breeo Y Series, 21 in
5. Cuisinart Cleanburn 24-Inch
6. East Oak Fuoco 21-Inch
7. Solo Stove Mesa XL Tabletop

