← Garden Guides

The 7 Best Propane Fire Pits and Fire Tables (2026)

The 7 Best Propane Fire Pits and Fire Tables (2026): best propane fire pit in an autumn garden setting

The best propane fire pit for most patios is the Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42 inch fire table, the model two independent testers ran head to head against the Ninja Fireside360, at 72,000 BTU and a listed 5.5 hours on a 20 lb tank. We checked every pick on Amazon on September 19, 2026.

BTU is the number every listing shouts, and it stops deciding much once you are past about 50,000. Three things decide whether you actually sit outside in November: where the propane tank goes, which is in the table below; whether your deck boards are allowed under it, which has its own section; and what the fire costs an hour to run, which we compute for sixteen models after the picks.

Disclosure: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It does not change what we recommend or what you pay. Prices and availability were checked on September 19, 2026 and can change.

Best propane fire pits at a glance

Fire pit Best for Rated output Type Tank Tested by
Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42 in Best overall 72,000 BTU Fire table, 304 stainless and powder coated steel Hidden, integrated compartment Popular Mechanics, The Barbecue Lab
Ninja Fireside360Ninja Fireside360 Most heat 80,000 BTU Fire pit and patio heater, three modes Hidden, door at the back Popular Mechanics, The Barbecue Lab
Kinger Home Kai 32Kinger Home Kai 32 in Best certified table 50,000 BTU Fire table, alloy steel, CSA certified Not stated Not tested by anyone we read
HillAethel 42 in concreteHillAethel 42 in concrete Cheapest pick that hides the tank 50,000 BTU Fire table, lightweight concrete Hidden, removable side panel Not tested by anyone we read
Ciays 43 in rectangularCiays 43 in rectangular Best value fire table 60,000 BTU Fire table, 304 stainless H-burner Not stated Bob Vila tested the 42 in sibling
Ignik FireCanIgnik FireCan Best portable, 11.5 lb 38,000 BTU (Bob Vila) Portable, steel ammo can External, 5 ft hose Bob Vila, this model
Outland Living 893 Deluxe 19Outland Living 893 Deluxe 19 in Best value portable 58,000 BTU Portable firebowl, steel with an enamel finish External, 10 ft hose OutdoorGearLab, this model

How we chose these

We did not test any of these, and we do not make them: we make digging spades, not fire pits, so nothing on this page is ours. What we did was read six roundups from four outlets that state they ran these models or their close siblings, then check every figure against the live Amazon listing, and against the manufacturer's spec page where one exists. Only one did, Solo Stove's; Ninja's and Outland's pages publish no spec block, Kinger's would not render for us, and Ignik's site does not resolve. Where sources disagree, this page prints all of them, and where a pick rests on the Amazon listing alone the glance table says so.

The testers are OutdoorGearLab, Bob Vila's fire pit roundup and its fire pit table roundup, which weighed a propane cylinder before and after burning, Popular Mechanics and The Barbecue Lab, plus Popular Mechanics' fire pit roundup for the one model they say they did not test.

One rule shaped this list, so here it is up front rather than four thousand words down: where a tester's model has a sibling that is cheaper and better specified, we slotted the sibling and named the tested model in Also considered with the reason. That happens once, on the Ciays. One more pick, the Outland 893, was named by its own tester but measured on its 24 inch sibling, and the page says so where it matters. Two picks, the Kinger and the HillAethel, are covered by no tester at all, and each is there because every tested model that does their job is unbuyable today.

What is the best propane fire pit?

The Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42 inch, for a fire pit that has to be the patio table too. Buy the Ninja Fireside360 instead if you want to be warm rather than to look at a flame, and the Outland 893 Deluxe if it has to travel or if the Solo Stove is over the budget.

The best propane fire pits, by job

1. Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42 in: best propane fire pit overall

Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42" Propane Fire Pit

The Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42 inch (ASIN B0GVTXZZFB) is the one we would buy first, and the one both head to head testers ran. Good: Solo Stove's spec page gives 42.0 inches across, 20.0 inches high and 75.8 lb, with up to 72,000 BTU and 5.5 hours on a 20 lb tank. The cylinder lives in an integrated compartment with a pivot out arm, behind an integrated heat shield. The Barbecue Lab reported that the tabletop stays cool enough to set a plate on, and their guests preferred its look to the Ninja's. Where it loses: it is the most expensive pick here, and Popular Mechanics took a little under two hours to assemble it. The three sources that state a weight also disagree: 75.8 lb from Solo Stove, 88.5 lb from The Barbecue Lab, 67 lb from Popular Mechanics.

Order now atamazon

2. Ninja Fireside360: most heat, and a patio heater too

Ninja Fireside360 Fire Pit & Heater

The Ninja Fireside360 (ASIN B0FDMBP1BM) is the pick if you want to be warm rather than to look at a fire. Good: listing features give 80,000 BTU across three modes, flame only, heat only, or both, and The Barbecue Lab breaks that into a 49,000 BTU heater ring and a 31,000 BTU flame on top. They put it at 22 inches wide, 29 inches high and 40 pounds, with a 2 year limited warranty. Both testers reported the heat difference: The Barbecue Lab's guests felt noticeably more warmth from the Ninja at 40 inches away on a 47 degree evening, and Popular Mechanics calls it the better buy value-wise. Where it loses: The Barbecue Lab flagged the metal cage as hot to the touch around small children, reports that its burner carries a printed warning against cooking, and describes its ceramic rocks as purely decorative.

Order now atamazon

3. Kinger Home Kai 32 in: best certified table

Kinger Home Kai 32-Inch Square Propane Fire Pit Table, Alloy Steel Outdoor Fire Pit with 50

The Kinger Home Kai 32 inch square (ASIN B09YCKL38R) is the table we slotted for a buyer who wants a certification line on the box. Good: the title states CSA certification and 50,000 BTUs, and the features give 32 by 32 by 24 inches at 69 lb, an alloy steel body, and lava rocks, a burner lid and a weatherproof cover in the box. It also states compatibility with a natural gas conversion kit, as both Outland Firebowls on this page do. It costs less than the cast aluminum table it replaced on this list and is 13,000 BTU up on it. Where it loses: no tester we read has run it, its feature list repeats the same construction bullet twice, and the 50,000 BTU figure appears only in the title. Three cheaper tables in our search state CSA too and we did not slot them, because none of the three states a weight: Ciays's 43 inch ceramic top, Betterhood's 51 inch and Sundale's 51 inch. If a certification line is all you want and a missing weight does not bother you, the Ciays ceramic is the cheap route to one.

Order now atamazon

4. HillAethel 42 in concrete: the cheapest pick that hides the tank

HillAethel 42-Inch Outdoor Propane Fire Pit Table

The HillAethel 42 inch concrete fire table (ASIN B0HBX35RQ2) is the cheapest pick here that puts the cylinder out of sight. Good: features describe a built-in compartment that conceals a standard 20 lb tank behind a removable side panel, 50,000 BTU from a stainless steel burner with push button ignition, and a lightweight concrete body with a stone look finish at 42 by 20 by 23.6 inches. Lava rocks, a burner lid, a waterproof cover and touch-up paint are listed in the box, which is a fuller kit than either dearer table above it. It is also the shallowest table here that states a depth, at 20 inches. Where it loses: no tester has run it, it states no weight for a concrete table you may have to move, and it names no safety certification where the Kinger above it does.

Order now atamazon

5. Ciays 43 in rectangular: best value fire table

Ciays 43-Inch Rectangular Propane Fire Pit with 60

The Ciays 43 inch rectangular fire table (ASIN B0DWKF284C) is the most heat per dollar of the four fire tables on the list. Good: features give 60,000 BTU from a 304 stainless steel H-burner, which the listing says makes a denser flame pattern than a single line burner, plus reflective glass stones, a transparent wind guard, a burner lid and adjustable feet. Bob Vila tested the 42 inch Ciays sibling and assembled it in 16 minutes, seven times faster than Popular Mechanics managed on our winner. Where it loses: Bob Vila puts that sibling's maximum output at 50,000 BTU where both Ciays titles say 60,000, and even at 50,000 it is still the highest BTU per dollar of the four tables, so the ranking survives but the number may not. They also found the sibling's thin metal construction unconvincing and noted it ships with no weather cover. Our pick states no dimensions beyond 43 inches, no weight and nothing about where the tank sits.

Order now atamazon

6. Ignik FireCan: best portable propane fire pit

Ignik FireCan Portable Propane Fire Pit with Hose and Regulator

The Ignik FireCan (ASIN B09LB1BHLB) is Bob Vila's outright best propane pick, and the only portable on the list whose kit a tester put on a scale. Good: they weighed the kit at 11.5 pounds, which the listing matches, set it up in a minute or two, and reported that it made nice little campfires with a surprising amount of heat and cooled within an hour of shutting the gas off. Features give an ammo can body of 15.5 by 6.5 by 10.75 inches that packs to 12 by 6.25 by 8.5, foldable legs, steel mesh sides, and a tool-less 5 foot hose that fits 5, 10 and 20 lb cylinders. Where it loses: Ignik publishes no output figure on the listing at all, so the 38,000 BTU in our table is Bob Vila's number rather than the maker's, and it is the lowest on this list. Their complaint is real too: no fire rock or ceramic diffuser comes in the box, and they judged it not ready to use as it arrived.

Order now atamazon

7. Outland Living 893 Deluxe 19 in: best value portable

Outland Living Portable Propane Fire Pit

The Outland Living 893 Deluxe 19 inch (ASIN B00KY4S388) is the cheapest way to a propane fire here, and OutdoorGearLab names this exact model as one they have tested. Good: features give 58,000 BTU per hour from a 19 by 19 by 11 inch steel firebowl, with a cover and carry kit, a pre-attached 10 foot hose and a 4.4 lb lava rock set, and the listing states the pit is CSA approved and safe to use during most campfire bans. On the larger Mega, which OutdoorGearLab measured at a 400 minute burn, they report it is safe to pack away 30 to 60 minutes after the flame goes out. Where it loses: the last feature line reads Ignition Type Manual, so you light this one yourself, and that is OutdoorGearLab's own complaint about the Outland they measured, whose cons list reads Manual igniter and whose review notes some buyers will miss an electric one. They also prefer the 24 inch for most people.

Order now atamazon

Also considered: models that missed the list and why

Seven picks is a decision. These nine are the models a shopper will also meet, and the first four are ones a tester recommended or ran. Every listing was checked the same day and every one of them is in the running-cost table below, two of them out of stock.

Outland Living 24 inch Firebowl, Check price. Almost certainly OutdoorGearLab's best portable propane pick, which they measured at 25 lbs with a 400 minute burn time, at 24 by 24 by 13 inches and 58,000 BTU. It missed on two counts: the Amazon title carries no model name, so we cannot prove this listing is the unit they measured, and it costs more than the 19 inch at the same rated output.

Ciays 42 inch fire pit table, Check price. Bob Vila's best for narrow spaces, assembled in 16 minutes, and one of the three weighed burns that corroborate the propane constant below. It missed because the 43 inch sibling is cheaper and states a 304 stainless burner and a wind guard that this listing does not.

Cuisinart Chimenea, Check price. Bob Vila's best-for-decks pick, 43 lb with the propane tank inside the body, and a listed 40,000 BTU for 9 to 15 hours on a 20 lb tank, one of only two runtime statements in our whole search. It missed on availability alone: Amazon returned it as scarce, and nothing scarce gets a slot here.

Legacy Heating 57 inch, out of stock. Included as a warning rather than an option. Bob Vila tested it and could not use it: their note reads that it would not remain lit despite numerous attempts, and that they checked all connections, disconnected and reconnected the propane tank, and followed the instructions to no avail. It lists 50,000 BTU and a hideaway tank holder, and it is the only outright failure Bob Vila reports.

Ignik FireCan Elite, Check price. The FireCan's higher output sibling, and the one to buy if the missing number bothers you: it states 55,000 BTU per hour, 10.1 lb, a packed size of 12.8 by 6.3 by 8.9 inches, a tank stand and Canadian Standards Association compliance. It missed because no tester has run it and it costs more than the FireCan they did run.

Flame King 24 inch, Check price. One of only two products in our 41 record pool whose features state a warranty, and the only full size fire pit among them: the other is Flame King's own tabletop. It states a 1 year manufacturer defect warranty alongside 58,000 BTU, a 24 by 24 by 12 inch bowl, piezo self-ignition and compatibility with 5, 10, 20, 30 and 40 lb tanks. It missed because no tester we read has run it, and for an outdoor gas appliance that warranty line is worth knowing about.

Bond Acero 23 inch fire column, Check price. One of the brands Google's shopping row puts in front of this query, at 50,000 BTU from a 23 inch diameter, 25 inch tall body weighing 33 lb, with the tank inside. It missed because a column has no tabletop, so it does none of the jobs the four fire tables here do, and at 33 lb it is not really portable either.

Oakland Living 34 inch round aluminum, Check price. This was a pick until round two of our own review. It is cast aluminum the listing calls rust free and weather resistant, 34 by 34 by 24.5 inches at 55 lb, and the box holds clear fire glass, a table lid, a propane tank cover, a second fabric table cover, foot glides and a tank holder, which is the fullest kit of any table on this page at six items against the HillAethel's five. It lost its slot because at 37,000 BTU it gives the least heat per dollar on the page, it states no certification and no tester covers it. It is still the cheapest fire here to run, at $2.64 an hour, which is the trade the table below makes visible.

Outland Living Series 403 44 inch table, out of stock. Named by Popular Mechanics, who state plainly that it was the one model they did not test. It is on this page for its paperwork rather than as a shopping option: it is the only listing in our entire pool that publishes clearance figures, and the sizing table below is built on them.

Also checked and not slotted: Endless Summer's DualHeat Donovan, which pairs a 30,000 BTU burner with an 11,000 BTU infrared heater; Heininger's 5995 and Camp Chef's Redwood, both returned scarce, and the Camp Chef listing carries no feature bullets at all. Two shopping row brands fell out of range entirely: Real Flame's cheapest Amazon propane unit costs more than anything on this page, and its line runs far higher, and Ozark Trail returned no Amazon listing in any of our searches.

What does a propane fire pit cost to run?

Between about $2.71 and $5.70 an hour at full output across the seven picks, on an exchange cylinder, or $1.46 to $3.07 if you refill your own tank. Widen it to all sixteen models below and the bottom drops to $2.64 and $1.42. Nobody else on this search prints either number, so here is the arithmetic in full.

Energy: propane holds about 21,500 BTU per pound. That is 91,452 BTU per gallon, the figure AmeriGas publishes and a propane price reference attributes to the US Energy Information Administration, divided by propane's liquid density of roughly 4.24 pounds per gallon. One source we saved disagrees: UConn's extension service publishes 92,500 BTU a gallon, 1.1 percent higher than the figure we use, which would take a little over a percent off every cost in the table. Price: Lowe's Blue Rhino cylinder price across the 15 pounds it holds is $1.532 a pound for an exchange. U-Haul's $3.00 to $4.00 a gallon is $0.71 to $0.94 a pound at the same density, and the table uses the $3.50 midpoint, $0.825 a pound. U-Haul also states that many exchange programs fill a 20 pound tank to only about 15 pounds, which is the cylinder our hours column assumes.

Three measured burns in our sources corroborate the constant, and they bracket it rather than confirm it. Bob Vila weighed 0.6 lb in 20 minutes on a 40,000 BTU table, which implies 22,222 BTU per pound, and 0.8 lb on a 50,000 BTU table, which implies 20,833. OutdoorGearLab measured a 400 minute burn on a 5 gallon tank, which holds 20 lb of propane, at 58,000 BTU, which implies 19,333. So real burns run from 3 percent leaner to 10 percent hungrier than the published figure: read the hours below as the optimistic end and the costs as the low end.

Fire pit Tier Rated BTU Weight Cost per hour, exchange then refill (computed) Hours per exchange cylinder (computed)
Ninja Fireside360 Pick 80,000 40 lb $5.70 / $3.07 4.0
Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42 in Pick 72,000 75.8 lb $5.13 / $2.76 4.5
Ciays 43 in Pick 60,000 Not stated $4.28 / $2.30 5.4
Outland Living 893 Deluxe 19 in Pick 58,000 Not stated $4.13 / $2.23 5.6
Kinger Home Kai 32 in Pick 50,000 69 lb $3.56 / $1.92 6.4
HillAethel 42 in Pick 50,000 Not stated $3.56 / $1.92 6.4
Ignik FireCan Pick 38,000 (Bob Vila) 11.5 lb $2.71 / $1.46 8.5
Ciays 42 in Also considered 60,000 Not stated $4.28 / $2.30 5.4
Outland Living 24 in Firebowl Also considered 58,000 25 lb $4.13 / $2.23 5.6
Flame King 24 in Also considered 58,000 Not stated $4.13 / $2.23 5.6
Ignik FireCan Elite Also considered 55,000 10.1 lb $3.92 / $2.11 5.9
Bond Acero 23 in column Also considered 50,000 33 lb $3.56 / $1.92 6.4
Cuisinart Chimenea Also considered 40,000 43 lb $2.85 / $1.54 8.1
Oakland Living 34 in Also considered 37,000 55 lb $2.64 / $1.42 8.7
Legacy Heating 57 in Also considered 50,000 Not stated Out of stock Out of stock
Outland Living Series 403 Also considered 50,000 Not stated Out of stock Out of stock

Two sanity checks on the model, against numbers nobody computed for us. On a full 20 pound fill it gives the Solo Stove 6.0 hours where Solo Stove publishes 5.5, and the Ninja 5.4 hours against the 5 hour estimate The Barbecue Lab reports from Ninja, which does not state a tank size. Both run 7 to 9 percent long, in the direction the measured burns predict. The Cuisinart's own 9 to 15 hour range brackets our 10.8, but a range that wide would accept almost any constant, so it is reassurance rather than a check.

Read the computed columns before you buy. The Outland gives far more heat per dollar than the Oakland Living, but it burns through a cylinder in 5.6 hours against the Oakland's 8.7, so the cheap pit is not the cheap evening. And the Ignik FireCan is the cheapest evening among the picks at $2.71 an hour, on a figure Ignik never published: the 38,000 BTU is Bob Vila's, from the write-up of this exact model. It is cheap per hour because it is a small fire, half the Ninja's output, so read that row as a smaller flame rather than a better deal.

What size propane fire pit do you need?

Size by clearance, not by flame. The only published clearance figures in our entire pool come from Outland's own 44 inch table: 80 inches above the fire and 36 inches to the sides, on non-combustible floors only, in a well ventilated space and never in an enclosed one. Applying that 36 inches to each side of every pick gives the footprints below.

Pick Footprint (listing, maker or tester) Plus 36 in clear each side Balcony, about 6 by 8 ft Small patio, 10 by 10 ft Patio, 12 by 16 ft
Ignik FireCan 15.5 x 6.5 in 7.3 x 6.5 ft Does not fit Fits Fits
Outland 893 Deluxe 19 x 19 in 7.6 x 7.6 ft Does not fit Fits Fits
Ninja Fireside360 22 in wide 7.8 ft across Does not fit Fits Fits
Kinger Home Kai 32 x 32 in 8.7 x 8.7 ft Does not fit Fits Fits
HillAethel 42 in 42 x 20 in 9.5 x 7.7 ft Does not fit Fits, barely Fits
Solo Stove 42 in 42 in across 9.5 ft across Does not fit Fits, barely Fits
Ciays 43 in 43 in wide 9.6 ft across Does not fit Fits, barely Fits

The balcony column is the useful one, and the answer is the same for all seven: nothing on this list clears 36 inches on every side of a 6 by 8 foot balcony, and the smallest pick here still wants 7.3 feet. Check your lease and your local code before you check the tape measure.

What is the best propane fire pit table?

The best propane fire pit table is the Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42 inch, and the best value is the Ciays 43 inch, which lists 60,000 BTU against the Solo Stove's 72,000. Both hide the cylinder, and so does the HillAethel.

The hidden tank is the feature worth paying for, and the listings use different words for different things. Solo Stove gives an integrated compartment with a pivot out arm. The HillAethel closes a removable side panel over it. Sundale's 51 inch and Betterhood's 51 inch describe a sliding tank drawer. The Oakland Living ships a tank cover, which is a bag, not a cabinet.

What is the best portable propane fire pit?

The best portable propane fire pit is the Ignik FireCan, because it is the only portable on the list a tester has weighed, carried and lit: Bob Vila made it their best propane pick outright, at 11.5 pounds packing down to 12 by 6.25 by 8.5 inches. OutdoorGearLab weighed the 24 inch Outland in Also considered at 25 lbs. For a backyard that never travels, the Outland 893 Deluxe is plenty of fire.

The testers split on these two. Bob Vila picked the Ignik; OutdoorGearLab prefers Outland and says the 24 inch model is the one most people should buy rather than the 19 inch we slotted on price. If you want a number on the box rather than a tester's hands on it, the FireCan Elite states 55,000 BTU for more money. Size and price run backwards down here too: Outland's 14 inch Firecube costs more than the larger 19 inch bowl.

Do propane fire pits give off heat?

Yes, and BTU is the number that says how much. The models on this page run from 37,000 BTU on the Oakland Living to 80,000 on the Ninja Fireside360, which is more than double. What no listing tells you is how much of that heat reaches a person three feet away, because that depends on where the burner points.

  • 37,000 to 50,000 BTU covers the Ignik FireCan at Bob Vila's 38,000, the Kinger and the HillAethel, and most tables we checked and did not slot.
  • 55,000 to 60,000 BTU covers the Outland and the Ciays, so a low-cost portable sits in the same band as far dearer tables.
  • 72,000 to 80,000 BTU is the top of this page and the only band where the testers reported feeling the difference rather than reading it.

Direction matters as much as output. The Ninja splits its 80,000 BTU into a 49,000 BTU ring that fires heat outward at seated height and a 31,000 BTU flame on top, which is why The Barbecue Lab's guests felt more warmth from it than from the higher looking flame beside it. If heat is the whole job, a dedicated unit does it better, and our best patio heaters guide covers those.

Can you roast marshmallows on a propane fire pit?

The listings are silent, but the testers are not, and the answer differs by model. The Barbecue Lab reports that the Ninja Fireside360 carries a clear warning printed on the burner against using it for cooking, and says Solo Stove has issued no such warning. OutdoorGearLab reports their kids roasting marshmallows over the Outland Living Mega, the 24 inch sibling of our cheapest pick.

So check the manual in your box before you hold food over any of them, because two of the models on this page have opposite answers from the same category. If marshmallows are the point, buy a pit whose listing says grill: the Ciays 19 inch ships with a grill grate, and Ignik sells a FireCan Deluxe fire pit and grill.

Can you put a propane fire pit on a deck?

The makers do not agree, and that is the honest answer. Solo Stove's own site answers it directly: yes, on a stable, non-flammable surface with adequate clearance and ventilation. The Ninja listing goes further and calls its propane system safe for use on grass, stone and wood. Two listings here take the restrictive side.

Those two are Outland's own listing for its 44 inch table and Endless Summer's for the DualHeat Donovan, both of which say non-combustible floors, well ventilated, never enclosed. A wooden deck sits exactly on that seam. None of our seven picks states a clearance to combustible surfaces or ships a ground heat shield, though Solo Stove's spec page describes an integrated heat shield between the fire and the tank, and Bob Vila's best-for-decks pick, the Cuisinart Chimenea, was scarce when we checked. One brand does answer it outright, and it is not one you can buy in this price band: both Real Flame units we priced, the 36 inch Riverside and the 70 inch Aegean, state it in the listing verbatim: Safe for use on a wooden deck. That sentence costs several times our cheapest pick. Read the manual in your box, then your local code.

What are the downsides of a propane fire pit?

Three, and the listings admit two of them out loud. The fuel is a recurring errand, because a cylinder that runs out at nine in the evening stays empty until somebody drives it somewhere. The running cost is real money. And what these listings sell hardest is an absence.

  • Refills forever. Four of the seven pick listings state the tank is not included and the other three say nothing, so budget for a cylinder either way, plus $2.71 to $5.70 an hour across the picks on exchange prices, or $2.64 at the bottom of the full table.
  • Ignition is where they differ. Three of the seven state a push button or instant ignition; the Outland's last feature line reads Ignition Type Manual, and the Ignik lights through a pilot hole.
  • No ash also means no ash. Outland's first bullet sells the absence of dirty ash, firewood and smoke, which is also most of what people mean by a campfire.

How do you choose a propane fire pit?

Choose by where the fire has to live, not by the BTU number on the box. Decide whether it is furniture or luggage, whether the cylinder can be seen, and how much clearance your patio can actually give up. Output is nearly the last thing to settle, because every pick but the FireCan is rated at 50,000 BTU or more.

  • Decide where the tank goes first. An integrated compartment, a removable panel, a sliding drawer, a cover bag and bare beside the table are five different things.
  • Price the fuel, not just the pit. The cheapest pit to buy is not the cheapest to run, and refilling your own cylinder is about 45 percent cheaper an hour than exchanging it.
  • Ask how long assembly takes. It is the widest spread on this page: Bob Vila put a Ciays table together in 16 minutes, Popular Mechanics spent a little under two hours on the Solo Stove.
  • Read the output, then read what is missing. The Ciays states 60,000 BTU and no weight; the Ninja states 80,000 BTU and no dimensions; Ignik states no output at all, and the only figure anyone publishes for it is Bob Vila's. Gaps are information too.
  • Look for a certification line, and notice who has none. Two of our seven picks state CSA, the Kinger table and the Outland. It is not a dealbreaker, since neither of the two models the head-to-head testers ran, the Solo Stove and the Ninja, states one, but it is free information on a gas appliance and four more tables in our wider search carry it.

Is a propane fire pit better than a wood fire pit?

Propane wins on everything except the smell of woodsmoke: no ash, no wood to buy, split or store, and the fire is out the second you turn the knob. Four hours on our winner costs about $21 on exchange propane, or about $11 refilled. If you want wood instead, our best smokeless fire pits guide covers the wood-burning pits built to cut the smoke, our best firewood racks guide covers keeping a stack dry and our best splitting axes guide covers getting it to stove size.

Where a fire pit stops and the yard starts

A fire table wants flat ground, the one part of this page that is dirt work rather than shopping. A 69 lb table that rocks on a settled lawn is a grading job first, which is what the Ciays adjustable feet are admitting. Our how to level a yard guide covers cutting a pad that stays flat, our how to winterize your garden guide covers the rest of the season, and this page is one stop on our fall yard cleanup tools checklist. Spear Head Spade makes double patented digging spades, and the spade finder says which size fits your soil.

Frequently asked questions

How long does a 20 lb propane tank last on a fire pit?

Between about five and twelve hours on a full 20 pound fill. The table above gives the figure per model on an exchange cylinder instead, which runs about four to nine hours, because U-Haul states that many exchange programs fill a 20 lb tank to only about 15 lbs. Turn the flame down and all of those stretch.

Is it cheaper to refill a propane tank or exchange it?

Refilling, on both counts. U-Haul puts refills at roughly $3.00 to $4.00 a gallon against $5.00 to $6.00 for an exchange, and states that many exchange programs fill a 20 pound tank to only about 15 pounds. So an exchange costs more per gallon and hands you less propane in the cylinder.

Are propane fire pits allowed during a fire ban?

Often, and two products here say so in their own words. The Outland states that its CSA approved pit is safe to use during most campfire bans and tells you to check current local restrictions, and the Ignik listing says its design brings a campfire where wood burning may not be allowed, adding check local regulations. Your local rule outranks the box.

Can you leave a propane fire pit outside all winter?

Only with a cover, and only some of these ship one. The Kinger lists a weatherproof cover, the HillAethel a waterproof one, and Solo Stove lists UV resistant waterproof materials. Bob Vila's complaint about the Ciays they tested was that no weather cover comes with it, which is a real added cost.

Can you convert a propane fire pit to natural gas?

Sometimes, and only where the listing says so. Outland names a CSA approved natural gas conversion kit 780 for the 893 Deluxe, and the Kinger Home Kai states it is compatible with a conversion kit not included. The Barbecue Lab reports that neither the Solo Stove nor the Ninja offers natural gas at all.

What is the cheapest propane fire pit worth buying?

The Outland 893 Deluxe. Cheaper pits exist, four of them in our search, and several match its 10 foot hose while two state a higher output, so the saving is real. What they do not have is a tester: OutdoorGearLab has run this Outland and named the model, and nobody we read has touched the cheaper four.

The bottom line

Buy the Solo Stove Infinity Flame 42 inch if the fire pit has to be the patio table too, the Ninja Fireside360 if you want to be warm rather than to look at a flame, and the Ignik FireCan if it has to travel. Decide where the tank goes first, then price the hour.

Related garden guides

← Back to Garden Guides